Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: EmJayBee83 on July 23, 2012, 12:56:19 AM

Title: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: EmJayBee83 on July 23, 2012, 12:56:19 AM
The first of these came up in a games played at teh NC Regionals.  The second is an extension...

Darius's Decree:  Player A sets aside all his heroes with Pentecost. In his next prep phase Player B turns up Darius's Decree and discards it immediately, without allowing Player A to play DoN (which he had ready for just this happenstance). Is this allowed--or does Player B have to give Player A a chance to play his Dominant?

Samritan Water Jars: Does a player have to provide an opportunity for his opponent to play DoN on SWJ?


If I were judging I would have said "Yes" to the first and "No" to the second. Yes on DD, because the discard is an optional non-triggered ability which seems to me to be akin to having to allow your opponent to play DoN on Hidden Treasures before pushing a prophet into battle. No on SWJ because the discard is a non-optional activation ability.
Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: Warrior_Monk on July 23, 2012, 12:58:05 AM
I think it's no to both, since both are instant discards when it's activated. Darius's Decree may be a may ability, but there's no time between activation and choosing to use it. That'd be like using Angel of the Lord when somebody plays Haman's Plot.
Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: Drrek on July 23, 2012, 01:09:13 AM
I would rule in both cases that DoN could not be played.  DoN's ability cannot insert itself into the abilities of the artifacts.
Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: EmJayBee83 on July 23, 2012, 01:12:56 AM
Darius's Decree may be a may ability, but there's no time between activation and choosing to use it.
I guess I don't understand this. I can activate the Decree on turn one and leave it up the whole game if I want. How is there no time between activation and choosing to use it?

Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: Drrek on July 23, 2012, 01:22:19 AM
Darius's Decree may be a may ability, but there's no time between activation and choosing to use it.
I guess I don't understand this. I can activate the Decree on turn one and leave it up the whole game if I want. How is there no time between activation and choosing to use it?

I would think the person has a chance to use the ability upon activation in the first place.
Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 23, 2012, 06:00:30 AM
You can flip up DD and Discard it at once. It's not that your opponent "didn't get the chance" to play DoN such as when you move between phases, but you merely did your action first.
Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: YourMathTeacher on July 23, 2012, 11:41:55 AM
Would the same apply to Holy Grail that has been used once already and then deactivated and then activated on a later turn?
Title: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: Jmbeers on July 23, 2012, 01:34:01 PM
Anything that happens in a privieous phase is CBN.

For instance, I play 7 years of plenty in Jacob to search for storehouse. I then make a rescue with Jacob banded to captin. Captin temporarily negates 7 years but dose not negate the search because the search happened in your prep phase. You have moved onto your battle phase making the search CBN.
Title: Re: Re: Can I play DoN on...
Post by: Professoralstad on July 23, 2012, 01:34:07 PM
Would the same apply to Holy Grail that has been used once already and then deactivated and then activated on a later turn?

Yes.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk 2
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal