Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: AceOfPlagues on March 15, 2010, 06:04:09 PM
-
Can I still make a battle challenge when I have this active?
-
Short answer: yes.
-
Yes, you can make a BC when you have BurS active.
-
Yes, you can issue a battle challenge. You just can not make a rescue attempt. I'm assuming heroes like The Woman at the Well would be exceptions though.
-
No they wouldn't.
-
Yes, you can issue a battle challenge. You just can not make a rescue attempt. I'm assuming heroes like The Woman at the Well would be exceptions though.
Woman at the Well doesn't change BurS at all. She searches opponent's deck for a EC and a LS, it still would be a BC.
P.S. Pol, stop intraposting me! ;)
-
So basically it would become a battle challenge with an unrescueable lost soul if you used Woman at the Well?
-
Wait I thought it was decided that if there is a ls you can't make a bc, and that you can't make an ra... so you can't attack? It's so confusing...
So short answer, I CAN use Gabriel and discard a card with Burial Shroud up?
-
As long as there are no LS's that Gabe could rescue, you can issue a BC with Burial Shroud up. You cannot issue a battle challenges if your opponent has LS's that could be rescued by the battle challenging player, even if Shroud is active.
As far as the Woman at the Well issue, you start a BC, find a Lost Soul, but then it remains a BC because Burial Shroud prevents you from making a rescue attempt (so BC's can't turn into rescues like they usually can).
However, there is a certain card that allows you to use Shroud in a super sneaky way where you can potentially win a rescue attempt while at the same time stopping your opponent...if you don't know it already, you should try figuring it out...
-
Wait, so why can't you make a battle challenge if there are souls available to be rescued?
Because you have access to none of them as per burial shrouds effect.
-
Wait, so why can't you make a battle challenge if there are souls available to be rescued?
Because you have access to none of them as per burial shrouds effect.
I've never been completely clear on that, but that's how it's been ruled for as long as I can remember.
-
It was ruled that you cannot make a BC if there are lost souls available. However, IMHO, when BurS is up, there aren't any available and therefore it's a BC.
The ruling was made to prevent Gab from making a BC even when there are lost souls available. "Available" IMHO means have access to. If that is incorrect, then a BC cannot be made when the lost soul is in a site w/o access.
Battle Challenge
A battle challenge may be given when there is no Lost Soul available for a Hero to rescue. A Hero is placed onto the Field of Battle, and the Evil Character is invited to fight. The battle challenge does not have to be accepted.
-
Nothing like a good meal
-
Now now RR, don't make it too easy.
-
Sorry to internetpost and questiong...
How does Burial Shroud work, do I turn it face up on my turn then choose to activate during my opponent's turn? The card said holder can't make a rescue attempt or be attacked. So would that prevent me from rescue attempting during the turn I turned it face up or the following turn after my opponent can't attack?
-
Now now RR, don't make it too easy.
It isn't. If people get it, they know this combo already, if they don't they should be happy with their TGT Speed ;). Ya know that wouldn't be a bad combo with TGT speed...
-
Seriously, that's like Jesus explaining the Bible on the way to Emmaus, RR. How could you?
-
Seriously, that's like Jesus explaining the Bible on the way to Emmaus, RR. How could you?
Aren't we supposed to be "Christ-like" ;)
-
Could someone answer my question please?
-
So RR, you use meal in a side battle? Didn't know that worked... cool.
-
I have never played it this way. When it comes to rulings like this one, i seem to find that Ive been playing this card wrong for years. I hope Professoralstad is incorrect on this one.
Burial Shroud
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may not make a rescue attempt or be attacked. May be used twice. • Play As: Prevent holder from making a rescue attempt. Protect holder from being attacked. May be used twice. • Identifiers: None • Verse: John 20:4-5 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Ultra Rare)
Maybe it's different in Type 2 where you have to declare which lost soul to rescue for it to be a rescue attempt.
-
Sorry to internetpost and questiong...
How does Burial Shroud work, do I turn it face up on my turn then choose to activate during my opponent's turn? The card said holder can't make a rescue attempt or be attacked. So would that prevent me from rescue attempting during the turn I turned it face up or the following turn after my opponent can't attack?
Burial Shroud is active as soon as you turn it up. That means that you can't make a rescue when you turn it up, but neither can your opponent on his next turn. It is mostly useful for when either your opponent has no LS's or you have no heroes, but you do have LS's. That way, since you wouldn't be able to rescue anyway, Shroud doesn't hurt you, but it stalls your opponent. It's also nice if you're waiting for something, like a set-aside to complete, and don't want to attack or be attacked until then. Make sense?
I have never played it this way. When it comes to rulings like this one, i seem to find that Ive been playing this card wrong for years. I hope Professoralstad is incorrect on this one.
Burial Shroud
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may not make a rescue attempt or be attacked. May be used twice. • Play As: Prevent holder from making a rescue attempt. Protect holder from being attacked. May be used twice. • Identifiers: None • Verse: John 20:4-5 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Ultra Rare)
Maybe it's different in Type 2 where you have to declare which lost soul to rescue for it to be a rescue attempt.
What point do you hope I'm incorrect on exactly? I'm fairly certain that everything I said on this thread is accurate.
-
What point do you hope I'm incorrect on exactly? I'm fairly certain that everything I said on this thread is accurate.
In not being able to attack with Burial Shroud active (with access). You see i am so used to being able to declare a battle challenge in type two that im sure ive done it in type one even though ive had access. A huge error on my part and prob overlooked by my opponent b/c they would rather me cause shenanagins rather than actually get a ls.
-
Is Meal NT or OT? Cause you might be able to pull off a sick recursion combo...
-
Seriously, that's like Jesus explaining the Bible on the way to Emmaus, RR. How could you?
Is Meal NT or OT? Cause you might be able to pull off a sick recursion combo...
Theres your hint ;)
-
good thing type 2 can only use this 6 times at most
-
good thing type 2 can only use this 6 times at most
Unless your opponent does something silly like shufflling the Shroud into your deck.
-
good thing type 2 can only use this 6 times at most
Unless your opponent does something silly like shufflling the Shroud into your deck.
Well, if you're running green you can shuffle your own. :)