Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jtay on April 23, 2009, 02:46:22 PM

Title: Burial Shroud
Post by: jtay on April 23, 2009, 02:46:22 PM
Burial Shroud -
Holder may not make a rescue attempt or be attacked. May be used twice. • Play As: Prevent holder from making a rescue attempt. Protect holder from being attacked. May be used twice.

So I understand that I can make battle challenges while Burial Shroud is up.  What if my opponent has lost souls in play?  Can I still declare a battle challenge even though I have access to a lost soul?  or am I prevented from attacking, since any attack I make would be considered a rescue attempt?
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on April 23, 2009, 02:49:02 PM
I believe if you have access to a LS, your battle has to be a RA.  So no, you can't start a BC when you have access to a LS.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 23, 2009, 02:52:29 PM
which makes this a great card for type 2
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Ironica on April 23, 2009, 03:23:11 PM
Quick question.  What if they have no lost souls, you start a BC and somehow, they got a LS in play (either by drawing or you serched their decks).  Does the battle immediatly end because it's now a RA?
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 23, 2009, 04:05:08 PM
I have wondered that myself, and I have no idea...
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on April 23, 2009, 04:12:05 PM
I'd say no.  It's still a battle challenge.  The presence of a LS is not going to kick you out of battle, but Burial Shroud is preventing you from making a RA.  So it would stay a battle challenge.


 But don't trust me.  I play type 2 and this is irrelevant in that.  ;)
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Mageduckey on April 24, 2009, 08:04:36 PM
I thought that you could choose to do a BC instead of a RA even if they had lost souls to rescue.  That's atleast the way I've always played it...  :-\ :P
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on April 24, 2009, 08:15:30 PM
It should just be errata'd/play as'd to say "No player may attack another player this turn. May be used twice per game."
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Bryon on April 24, 2009, 10:50:33 PM
I believe if you have access to a LS, your battle has to be a RA.  So no, you can't start a BC when you have access to a LS.
correct.
I thought that you could choose to do a BC instead of a RA even if they had lost souls to rescue.
That is not correct.

If there is no lost soul available, and you begin a battle challenge, and a lost soul becomes available, the battle REMAINS a battle challenge.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Mageduckey on April 24, 2009, 10:56:41 PM
So I can't choose to battle w/o going for a lost soul when there's one available?  Why not?
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Gabe on April 24, 2009, 11:30:14 PM
Last year about this time there was a lengthy discussion about when a LS is chosen in T2 for rescuer's choice.  The end result was that Rob ruled the soul is chosen before the abilities on characters activate (meaning you can't force a LS into play with Hur/Seeker to create a rescue attempt).

At the end of that discussion Tim Maly presented the question of whether or not a person could declare a BC when they had access to a LS.  I specifically recall Rob responding, "I don't see why not".
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Bryon on April 25, 2009, 12:42:17 AM
So I can't choose to battle w/o going for a lost soul when there's one available?  Why not?
Because the rulebook calls that a rescue attempt.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: The Schaef on April 25, 2009, 12:49:32 AM
At the end of that discussion Tim Maly presented the question of whether or not a person could declare a BC when they had access to a LS.  I specifically recall Rob responding, "I don't see why not".

Well, yes, in T2 you can select a LS to which you do not have access, even if there are other Lost Souls to which you do have access.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Scottie_ffgamer on April 25, 2009, 03:56:05 AM
Of course, this is all for T2.  In T1, it's defender's choice and the choosing happens during battle resolution, correct?  So in that case, you could use abilities like Seeker or Hur to bring an accessible LS into play in the middle of battle, even if the battle started as a BC.  However, I'd imagine that, if Burial Shroud is up and you do start a BC, even if an accessible LS is brought into play, it must remain a BC since "Holder may not make a rescue attempt...."  That sound about right?   Again, this is coming from a player whose played maybe 5 T1 games ever.   ::)
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: MichaelHue on April 25, 2009, 07:57:13 AM
Last year about this time there was a lengthy discussion about when a LS is chosen in T2 for rescuer's choice.  The end result was that Rob ruled the soul is chosen before the abilities on characters activate (meaning you can't force a LS into play with Hur/Seeker to create a rescue attempt).

You can, if you DoN your own Burial Shroud during your battle challenge.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: crustpope on April 28, 2009, 01:10:53 PM
Burial Shroud -
Holder may not make a rescue attempt or be attacked. May be used twice. • Play As: Prevent holder from making a rescue attempt. Protect holder from being attacked. May be used twice.

So I understand that I can make battle challenges while Burial Shroud is up.  What if my opponent has lost souls in play?  Can I still declare a battle challenge even though I have access to a lost soul?  or am I prevented from attacking, since any attack I make would be considered a rescue attempt?


Really?  I thought that the whole "protect holder from being attacked" would prevent battle challenges since that is a form of attack.  When did it become legal to do a Battle Challenge while Bruial Shroud is up?  too much damage can be done during a rescue attempt. especially with ET and a green prophet and hiddern treasures.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Bryon on April 28, 2009, 01:27:58 PM
There are two parts to Burial Shroud.   The first says YOU can't make a rescue attempt, but you can make battle challenges.  The second says opponents can't attack you, so they can't rescue and can't battle challenge. 
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: crustpope on April 28, 2009, 01:41:56 PM
There are two parts to Burial Shroud.   The first says YOU can't make a rescue attempt, but you can make battle challenges.  The second says opponents can't attack you, so they can't rescue and can't battle challenge. 

OIC. I thought that my opponent would be BC'ing me while I had Burial Shroud up.  That would stink
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Matman on July 21, 2009, 05:48:33 PM
Burial Shroud has a 2 part SA. First being Holder may not make a rescue attempt and the second being or be attacked. May be used twice.

So my question is do the SA go hand and hand or can I make a rescue attempt and still not be attacked?

Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: BubbleBoy on July 21, 2009, 06:27:12 PM
Even if it was two different SA's, both of them are active, so...:scratch: What exactly are you saying now?
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: jtay on July 21, 2009, 06:35:19 PM
I think he's asking if you can use one part of the special ability and not the other.  In which case, the answer would be no.  The Play As on Burial Shroud removes the word "may" from the ability, so both parts of the ability are always functioning.
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: frisian9 on July 21, 2009, 09:08:22 PM
They both are activated and used - you can't select only one.

Mike
Title: Re: Burial Shroud
Post by: Matman on July 21, 2009, 09:18:18 PM
I think he's asking if you can use one part of the special ability and not the other.  In which case, the answer would be no.  The Play As on Burial Shroud removes the word "may" from the ability, so both parts of the ability are always functioning.

Sorry I wasnt more clear, and yes that is what I mean.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal