Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jtay on February 28, 2009, 03:20:19 PM

Title: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: jtay on February 28, 2009, 03:20:19 PM
If I play Bravery of Priscilla, and then band in a character from my territory, is that character still protected from damage?

Bravery of Priscilla - Interrupt the current battle to give all Heroes not in the Field of Battle protection from damage this turn.  Errata:  Interrupt the battle and protect all Heroes in holder's territory from "harm or negative effect" until end of turn.

The original card ability seems to say the answer is yes, but the errata'd ability seems to say no.  Which is it supposed to be?
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 28, 2009, 03:44:51 PM
I would say no because once the hero leaves the territory, he is no longer in territory.  However, it is it yes, I like the idea a lot. :)
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: Arch Angel on February 28, 2009, 04:33:50 PM
Since targets don't change, I'd say yea, once it was protected it stays protected.
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: lightningninja on February 28, 2009, 04:46:25 PM
I think it's ongoing. So you keep checking for heroes in your territory, and constantly protecting them. Schaef, could we get an official?
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on February 28, 2009, 06:12:05 PM
I think it's ongoing. So you keep checking for heroes in your territory, and constantly protecting them. Schaef, could we get an official?
+1 its ongoing which means ITB would remove the protection untill the hero was in battle, then when the protection reinstated it would not be able to target that person, NOW if you banded with a normal banding card...then things would get hazy
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: MichaelHue on February 28, 2009, 06:26:16 PM
It depends on whether the target is each individual hero in your territory, or all heroes in your territory as a whole (sort of targeting your territory).  I tend to think that at the moment its ability activates, it targets each hero in your territory at the time and protects it.  Therefore, if you used a banding card that did not interrupt Bravery of Priscilla's ability, the hero you banded in (assuming it was from your territory) would be protected while in battle.

For instance, let's say you attacked with Faithful Servant (Promo) and played Bravery of Priscilla, then Increasing Numbers.  I don't think that the heroes placed in your territory by Increasing Numbers would be protected, unless for some reason Bravery of Priscilla protects cards not in play (i.e. heroes in draw piles), which I doubt is the case, as it doesn't specify.
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: SirNobody on March 01, 2009, 04:00:55 AM
Hey,

Bravery of Priscilla targets the characters in the territory and gives them protection.  If the character is banded into battle it still has the protection.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 01, 2009, 08:40:10 AM
This may not be possible, but in the case that a hero is added to territory after Bravery of Priscilla is played, that hero would not be protected since it was not originally targeted?

I am getting confused between the wording for ongoing/instant versus target/not target.
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: MichaelHue on March 01, 2009, 10:12:26 AM
The targeting of the heroes is instant, so it doesn't keep reselecting targets.  The protection of the targeted heroes is ongoing.
Title: Re: Bravery of Priscilla
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 01, 2009, 10:21:57 AM
So, in the case of a SA that reads "Protect all heroes in battle..." or "Heroes in battle are immune...", only the heroes in the battle at the time the SA is activated (targeting happened) are protected/immune. No other heroes added to battle would be protected/immune?

Somehow I thought I had heard this ruled differently in the past, when the discussion centered on the effect of ongoing abilities that have not been negated. Maybe I'm just getting myself confused.  :-\
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal