Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Wing on March 30, 2012, 09:37:09 PM

Title: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Red Wing on March 30, 2012, 09:37:09 PM
Can Bravery of David [RoA2] negate Go Into Captivity used as a Curse?
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Praeceps on March 30, 2012, 09:59:46 PM
I would say yes.
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Redoubter on March 30, 2012, 10:35:12 PM
I don't believe you can.

Quote
Curse

A Curse card has a serpent and a skull in the icon box.  A Curse may be used either as an artifact or as an enhancement.  When you play a Curse, you decide how to use it. If you want to use it as an artifact, disregard the skull icon and play the card as you would any other artifact.  If you want to use it as an enhancement, disregard the serpent icon and play the card as an evil enhancement.

Curses and Covenants are neutral cards when played as artifacts.  They can only be targeted as an artifact, curse, or neutral card.  Unless the Curse was played as an enhancement, it is not an evil card from anything I can find.
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on March 30, 2012, 10:36:36 PM
Curses are evil cards, even when being used as Artifacts.
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Redoubter on March 30, 2012, 10:39:19 PM
Curses are evil cards, even when being used as Artifacts.

I'm trying to find this, is there a relevant ruling or game rule I can go to for it?  This actually came up in a tournament I was in, and it was ruled that Curses on the pile are not evil cards.  Want to make sure we're able to use the correct rule :)
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Drrek on March 30, 2012, 11:18:14 PM
Curses are evil cards, even when being used as Artifacts.

I'm trying to find this, is there a relevant ruling or game rule I can go to for it?  This actually came up in a tournament I was in, and it was ruled that Curses on the pile are not evil cards.  Want to make sure we're able to use the correct rule :)

Woah, when did anyone rule this way at our tournaments and where was I?  I would have definitely argued the other way if I had heard someone rule that way.
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: browarod on March 30, 2012, 11:52:50 PM
To answer the original question: it depends on if you're trying to negate it before or after they discarded it to capture you. If the artifact is already discarded, you can't negate it (much like you can't DoN an Unholy Writ after it is discarded to capture).
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Redoubter on March 31, 2012, 01:24:31 AM
To answer the original question: it depends on if you're trying to negate it before or after they discarded it to capture you. If the artifact is already discarded, you can't negate it (much like you can't DoN an Unholy Writ after it is discarded to capture).

If this is the case, then why could I target Invoking Terror once it bottom-decks?  It is also out of the battle, but if I have a negate that can target it, it gets hit (unless I missed yet another rulings thread on that one).
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: TechnoEthicist on March 31, 2012, 08:24:34 AM

Woah, when did anyone rule this way at our tournaments and where was I?  I would have definitely argued the other way if I had heard someone rule that way.


When all you have to go on is that REG definition for making a ruling there ls little else you can do. It seems nearly every time i play the game what i thought was right changes...now i understand why shawn gets annoyed with judging...i dont base my rules on previous experience anymore as i am tired of them being wrong.../sigh...this should be a sign of a consistency problem when someone who has played nearly 15every years still doesnt understand the rules.../vent
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Redoubter on March 31, 2012, 01:46:28 PM
Fun fact:  I (the person who would benefit from it being an evil card) didn't think it was, my opponent (who would benefit from it being a neutral card) thought it was, and our two judges had no clue and when researching came up with the same answer I did.  I agree that it's a bit of a problem when simple things like "is this card evil?" cannot be answered by a cursory look at the REG.

But I don't blame any judges for this, whoever they may be ;)
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 31, 2012, 04:16:11 PM
It can if GiC is creating special initiative. If GiC is only capturing one of multiple Heroes in battle, BoD can't target it.
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Redoubter on March 31, 2012, 04:20:41 PM
It can if GiC is creating special initiative. If GiC is only capturing one of multiple Heroes in battle, BoD can't target it.

Yeah, that's what I was getting at, that you can target it, even though it has left play.  You're right that it has to be special initiative, of course.
Title: Re: BoD vs GiC
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 31, 2012, 11:25:48 PM
Curses are evil cards, even when being used as Artifacts.
+1

It can if GiC is creating special initiative. If GiC is only capturing one of multiple Heroes in battle, BoD can't target it.
+1
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal