Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 07:04:30 PM

Title: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 07:04:30 PM
Are you allowed to take disciples out of boat and put them in your territory at any point in time? if if that is possible, at what point?


(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.redemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FFishing%2520Boat%2520%28Di%29.gif&hash=f9fc47df7dedd1fc9df9cc4616eecc853e436798)
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: RTSmaniac on January 25, 2011, 09:16:48 PM
needs a play as same as Goshen (P).

Goshen (P)
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from all effects. If your Genesis or Exodus Hero has toughness */0 or less, you may place it here instead of discarding it. • Play As: Protect contents from harm or effect. Place or return Heroes during your Preparation Phase. If your Genesis Hero or Exodus Hero has toughness */0 or less, you may place it here instead of discarding it. Goshen may hold any number of Heroes of up to three brigades. • Identifiers: Play to territory. • Verse: Exodus 9:26 • Availability: Promotional cards (2008 Local Tournament)

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fredemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FGoshen%2520%28P%29.gif&hash=0c0e06cbfd3a67bbaae87f51a4482f61187b7d5c)
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 09:23:41 PM
That was my thought as well....

Although it would be sweet if it was,
"Place or return Heroes during your Preparation and Discard Phases."

Logic being- after the disciples witnessed, they often got back into their boat, until they arrived at and witnessed at the next location.... I know it won't get a play as like this though
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: SomeKittens on January 25, 2011, 10:17:32 PM
That was my thought as well....

Although it would be sweet if it was,
"Place or return Heroes during your Preparation and Discard Phases."

Logic being- after the disciples witnessed, they often got back into their boat, until they arrived at and witnessed at the next location.... I know it won't get a play as like this though
That's how I've always played it.
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 10:19:39 PM
That was my thought as well....

Although it would be sweet if it was,
"Place or return Heroes during your Preparation and Discard Phases."

Logic being- after the disciples witnessed, they often got back into their boat, until they arrived at and witnessed at the next location.... I know it won't get a play as like this though
That's how I've always played it.

you've played it where you can add disciples at the end of your turn as well?
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: SomeKittens on January 25, 2011, 10:28:03 PM
The REG is silent on the issue.  Goshen had an errata to say that, so I assume that Prep only is not game rule.
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 10:29:11 PM
Elders?
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: RTSmaniac on January 25, 2011, 10:35:22 PM
Technically:

Redemption® Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn > Preparation Phase
Fortresses
You may place any number of fortresses on the table as described on the fortress. You may add or remove cards in a fortress as described on the fortress. You may only hold your own cards in a fortress unless a card states otherwise. A fortress may not be used to gain access to an opponent’s sites.

and i dont see any description on the card as to when characters can be added or removed so I assume it must be the default which again i assume is during the Prep Phase of the turn.
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 10:37:48 PM
Technically:

Redemption® Rulebook > Diagram of a Turn > Preparation Phase
Fortresses
You may place any number of fortresses on the table as described on the fortress. You may add or remove cards in a fortress as described on the fortress. You may only hold your own cards in a fortress unless a card states otherwise.
A fortress may not be used to gain access to an opponent’s sites.


and i dont see any description on the card as to when characters can be added or removed so I assume it must be the default which again i assume is during the Prep Phase of the turn.

haha, sorry, had to point out the irony
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: SomeKittens on January 25, 2011, 10:39:03 PM
Well then, half of Boat is illegal, and since it doesn't describe how to enter the Boat, we can't put anyone there either.
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 10:40:04 PM
Well then, half of Boat is illegal, and since it doesn't describe how to enter the Boat, we can't put anyone there either.

no, I assume RTS is right, you can add and remove Disciples there during prep phase
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 25, 2011, 11:22:11 PM
There is a rule default, not in the REG because it was made in the past 2 years, on adding/removing cards from Fortresses with a "Holds" identifier. They may be added/removed from/to hand/territory during your prep phases unless there is a non-optional entry/exit condition.
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 25, 2011, 11:25:23 PM
There is a rule default, not in the REG because it was made in the past 2 years, on adding/removing cards from Fortresses with a "Holds" identifier. They may be added/removed from/to hand/territory during your prep phases unless there is a non-optional entry/exit condition.

What does that mean?

Also- so you could add a disciple to the boat from your territory, and then take it into your hand from the boat???
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: RTSmaniac on January 26, 2011, 12:27:31 AM
Gabe
Redemption Elder  
    Re: OFFICIAL REG Corrections thread
« Reply #26 on: January 24, 2011, 11:33:47 PM » 0   Quote  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fishing Boat is missing it's identifier in the REG.  It should say:

Fishing Boat (Di)
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set this aside. Each upkeep, you may place a Hero from here beneath your deck to draw X or to give your disciples access to all Sites this turn. • Identifiers:  None Holds up to 12 disciples.  X = # of Heroes here   • Verse: Luke 5:4
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Minister Polarius on January 26, 2011, 12:48:46 AM
Imo the rule needs one more tweak to make it hand for Enhancements and territory for Characters but as of now, yes, you can use Fortresses as a backdoor to put characters in your hand.
Title: Re: Boat Q
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on January 26, 2011, 02:21:30 AM
Imo the rule needs one more tweak to make it hand for Enhancements and territory for Characters but as of now, yes, you can use Fortresses as a backdoor to put characters in your hand.

sweet
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal