Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SignoftheStar on December 25, 2017, 06:29:12 AM
-
Can you discard your own Gates of Hell after starting a rescue attempt to effectively choose a blocker from your own territory?
The Gates of Hell- Evil Fortress, At any time, you may discard the bottom card of your deck. If it is an Orange Demon or a Lost Soul, place it in your territory instead. You may discard this card to add your Demon to the battle.
-
I think it gets ruled you can only add to your side in battle unless specified. For example if your attacking you can use good add to battle cards to add more Hero's and if your defending any can use evil to add evil characters. The cards you can use for choose the blocker are worded like Ehud- you may choose the evil character your opponent uses.
-
This would be my first impression as well, but when I double-checked with the REG, I couldn't find anything to satisfy my enough in that regard. Good ol' Gates says AT ANY TIME, and all the REG has to say about it is:
"Add to battle abilities can only add cards to a battle in which you are participating. Adding a card to battle causes the player on that side of the battle to control the card. If a different player normally has Permanent Control of the card, the player on that side of the battle gains Temporary Control until the card leaves battle."
And all of that still adds up nicely with the idea that I could block myself with Gates.
Which leads me to the boards to inquire from the community.
-
Cnakeeyes is correct. It's been ruled that way consistently, but hadn't made it into the REG for some reason. I think the only cards that add to the opponent's side of the battle are Siege and The Second Seal.
-
Cnakeeyes is correct. It's been ruled that way consistently, but hadn't made it into the REG for some reason. I think the only cards that add to the opponent's side of the battle are Siege and The Second Seal.
Doesn't choose the rescuer/blocker function like a (sometimes withdraw) and then add to your opponent's side of the battle?
-
If it was withdraw/add to battle, choose opponent could add characters if it doesn't remove them all. It's more withdraw/present.
But abilities aren't (usually) described as including other abilities, even if they function similarly.