Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jbeers285 on December 12, 2012, 01:38:28 AM
-
Currently the way I have seen it played is this
(-/-)
SA :Opponent may not draw or make a rescue attempt next turn
Restrict opponent from drawing cards or beginning a rescue attempt.
If this is accurate i could then mayhem on their turn and they would simply have to shuffle their entire hand into deck without drawing 6 cards.
Is this right?
-
Mayhem states "Shuffle...TO...draw." so no.
I am curious to know how that works for other cards though, such as forced drawing.
-
Sense it is shuffle to draw they would be restricted from shuffling then?
I am not sure why the cause can't happen even of the effect is restricted?
-
If Besieging the City means "Restrict opponent from drawing cards", then Mayhem would shuffle their hand, and then they would be restricted from drawing, leaving them with zero cards in hand. And since it targets the opponent, and not a special ability or a deck, that makes a strong case for it being a Restrict instead of Prevent or Protect.
I say it works like you've said. Let's see what the Elders have to say on the subject.
-
Besiege the City is a restrict and would be very detrimental to an opponent if you pull this combo off.
-
very sweet i thought this is how it would work . . thanks for the information
-
For some reason I always thought this card meant they had to choose one of the things to not be able to do but that they could do the other (i.e.: they could not draw and make a rescue attempt, or draw but not make a rescue attempt). Not really sure why I thought that, but it makes the card better if it restricts (lol) both.
-
For some reason I always thought this card meant they had to choose one of the things to not be able to do but that they could do the other (i.e.: they could not draw and make a rescue attempt, or draw but not make a rescue attempt). Not really sure why I thought that, but it makes the card better if it restricts (lol) both.
There's another card that does what you describe. The name escapes me right now.
-
For some reason I always thought this card meant they had to choose one of the things to not be able to do but that they could do the other (i.e.: they could not draw and make a rescue attempt, or draw but not make a rescue attempt). Not really sure why I thought that, but it makes the card better if it restricts (lol) both.
I also was pretty sure that was the ruling from before.
-
For some reason I always thought this card meant they had to choose one of the things to not be able to do but that they could do the other (i.e.: they could not draw and make a rescue attempt, or draw but not make a rescue attempt). Not really sure why I thought that, but it makes the card better if it restricts (lol) both.
There's another card that does what you describe. The name escapes me right now.
I believe that's Displeasing Philistines or something like that.
-
Political Bribes.
-
So that we all know what cards are being talked about:
-Besieging the City
Opponent may not draw cards or make a rescue attempt next turn.
-Displeased Philistines
Opponent(s) may not draw any cards or search draw pile next turn.
-Political Bribes
Each opponent must either skip next draw phase or make no rescue attempt that turn.
The first two restrict both actions, while the latter restricts one or the either (opponent's choice when they decide what to do about their draw phase).
On a side note, the old REG link (cactusgamedesign.com/REG) doesn't seem to be up anymore. While I'm guessing that may be on purpose, it is a bit harder to pull up the SA on the Visualizer (especially since it can't be copied). Just an observation :)
-
I don't think the old web based REG is down on purpose. When releasing the PDF version, we talked to Rob about the value of having the web version available still. I believe he agreed. It's more likely that something has gone awry and he's either unaware or too busy with holiday orders to address the issue.
-
The web-based REG site seems to be working fine for me this morning. Hurray for fixing things.
-
I don't think the old web based REG is down on purpose. When releasing the PDF version, we talked to Rob about the value of having the web version available still. I believe he agreed. It's more likely that something has gone awry and he's either unaware or too busy with holiday orders to address the issue.
I pray he's SWAMPED with holiday orders! :)
(Which reminds me, I need to get my order in.)
-
I know from practical experience this combo works. :'(
-
Does this mean prof u in jacking my play for t3 root lol
Just messing its all good
But I have been doing that since nats lol
-
I know you have. very annoying.
-
Does this mean prof u in jacking my play for t3 root lol
I totally did jack your play in my previous game. It's the first time I've ever tried to pull it off, and it really was the gamechanger. Just goes to show that reading all these threads on the forum really does pay off :)
-
Yes it does hahaha it's a sweet play I absolutely love it and I feel proud to know someone else is using it! Especially someone of your caliber
-
For the record, this combo isn't new. This very same question was asked of the elders in private in August of 2011 by a player who asked to remain anonymous at the time. It's been around for a while, it's just that not many people play BtC so it's not that common.