Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TXJonathan on November 03, 2011, 03:25:23 PM
-
If I rescue with a Hero that negates evil fortresses in play, then can I play AotL to discard a evil character in their territory or use Holy Grail to convert before they block. Also, if the Hero is discarded from battle and their ability wasn't negated, then do I get the chance to convert with Grail or discard with AotL before the battle ends?
-
If I rescue with a Hero that negates evil fortresses in play, then can I play AotL to discard a evil character in their territory or use Holy Grail to convert before they block. Also, if the Hero is discarded from battle and their ability wasn't negated, then do I get the chance to convert with Grail or discard with AotL berfore the battle ends?
1. Yes
2. No
-
Sort of. Yes to both regarding AotL, but Grail has an errata that adds "except during battle" so you can't use it in either of those examples.
-
Sort of. Yes to both regarding AotL, but Grail has an errata that adds "except during battle" so you can't use it in either of those examples.
It does? Here's the errata from the official thread, but I don't see a "except during battle phase"
Holy Grail - Once per turn holder may convert a human evil character in a territory to a hero in brigade of holder's choice. Holder is limited to two such conversions per game.
-
Holy Grail (Wa)Type: Artifact (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_artifact.htm) • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_holder.htm)may convert (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_convert.htm) one human (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_human.htm) Evil Character (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_evilcharacter.htm) per turn (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_turn.htm) into a Hero (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_hero.htm) in the brigade color of Holder's choice. Holder is limited to two such conversions per game. • Errata: Once per turn holder may convert a human Evil Character (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_character.htm) in a territory (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/Master/gloss_territory.htm) to a Hero in brigade of Holder's choice. Holder is limited to two such conversions per game. • Identifiers:None • Verse: Matthew 26:27-28 • Availability: Warriors (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/LinkedDocuments/Holy%20Grail%20(Wa).gif) booster packs (Rare)
My bad, I remembered the errata wrong. Yes, you can, but only in territory.
-
So in short, the answer is yes to all.
-
Thanks, I think that answered my question. :)
-
The answer for 1 is yes. The answer for 2 is it depends. If the discard is via special ability ("discard a hero") then yes you could play AotL to kill the EC. If the discard is by the numbers then when the hero dies the EC also returns immediately to territory as part of battle resolution and there is nothing you can play from then until the battle is over (so you couldn't AotL/Grail the EC in territory since he's not in territory til the battle ends, and then the fortress negation is no longer active). At no point from when the EC enters battle can you then use Grail on that EC during battle.
Hope that makes sense.