Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on February 09, 2009, 08:34:53 PM

Title: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 09, 2009, 08:34:53 PM
Ira "All special abilities on character cards and enhancements cards except this one are interrupted and prevented.  Battle is determined by the numbers"  starts a RA.  Opponent blocks with King Ben-Hadad I, he has Unknown Nation "If opponent's Hero is in battle, you may discard this card to search draw pile for a human Evil Character and add it to battle" in his artifact pile.  Can he use this ability since it is considered an artifact and not an enhancement?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: TimMierz on February 09, 2009, 08:37:17 PM
That's correct. Cards being used as artifacts are not negated by Ira and friends.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 09, 2009, 08:37:43 PM
yep, once a curse is used as an art, it is only an art, not an enhancement.

EDIT: intraposted
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: adotson85 on February 09, 2009, 10:16:00 PM
Speaking of curses, if a curse or covenant is in a player's hand is it considered an enhancement.  I recall one time when I had a card that let me discard a card from an opponent's hand, but we were not sure if a curse/covenant is considered an enhancement while it is in hand.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Gabe on February 09, 2009, 10:19:18 PM
While it's in the hand, deck or discard pile it's "at face value" which makes it a curse or covenent.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on February 09, 2009, 11:10:26 PM
Just to clarify, though, you can discard Go Into Captivity to activate King Zimri's ability, right?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Arch Angel on February 09, 2009, 11:47:08 PM
I don't think you can, because it's simply a Curse. Just like you can't recur it with an Enhancement grabber, because it's not technically an enhancement, it just moonlights as one.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 09, 2009, 11:51:13 PM
So can I use Unknown Nation as an enhancement, and it still not be negated by Ira since it is a curse card?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: sk on February 09, 2009, 11:52:49 PM
No.  If it's being used as an enhancement, it is an enhancement, and thus negated.  While being used as an artifact, it is not an enhancement, thus it cannot be negated by Ira.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Arch Angel on February 09, 2009, 11:53:39 PM
Once it's played it takes on whichever role it's used as, either Enhancement or Artifact, and can be targeted accordingly.


EDIT: instaposted xP
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Prof Underwood on February 10, 2009, 01:10:58 AM
Just to clarify, though, you can discard Go Into Captivity to activate King Zimri's ability, right?
There was a big thread about this a while back (probably lost in the purge).  If I remember Rob even weighed in on it and said that he intended curses and covenants to have a lot of freedom of play (for instance being put in Storehouse).

The discussion centered on when a curse/covenant actually "becomes" an art or enhancement as well as it's original designation as a curse/covenant.  Being put in play doesn't work, because they can be put straight into the artifact pile face-down (thus not in play).  They can also be put straight into Storehouse.  So it seems that it is just when they leave your hand.  If this is the case, then they could indeed be declared to be enhancements on their way to the discard pile.

However, if I remember, this thread was never actually resolved conclusively, so who knows?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 16, 2009, 09:03:19 PM
New question:  Say I am attacking with Army of Simeonites "Each time this character is about to be discarded, instead return it to territory with abilities decreased 3/3" and he is an 8/8 if King of Tyrus block, is the Army 11/11 or 8/8?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on February 16, 2009, 09:16:44 PM
I think he'd still be 8/8 because that ability took place on a previous turn.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on February 16, 2009, 09:16:55 PM
New question:  Say I am attacking with Army of Simeonites "Each time this character is about to be discarded, instead return it to territory with abilities decreased 3/3" and he is an 8/8 if King of Tyrus block, is the Army 11/11 or 8/8?

Army is still 8/8. Any decreases from previous turns cannot be negated. This is true of any special ability that completed on a previous turn.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 17, 2009, 10:36:20 AM
Just to clarify, though, you can discard Go Into Captivity to activate King Zimri's ability, right?

If GIC is in your hand, you can.  However, if it is in your artifact pile, you cannot.  When a curse is used a one side, the other side disappears.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on February 17, 2009, 04:02:09 PM
Just to clarify, though, you can discard Go Into Captivity to activate King Zimri's ability, right?

If GIC is in your hand, you can.  However, if it is in your artifact pile, you cannot.  When a curse is used a one side, the other side disappears.

I meant from hand, but I don't think that has been clearly resolved.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 17, 2009, 04:34:18 PM
Just to clarify, though, you can discard Go Into Captivity to activate King Zimri's ability, right?

If GIC is in your hand, you can.  However, if it is in your artifact pile, you cannot.  When a curse is used a one side, the other side disappears.

I meant from hand, but I don't think that has been clearly resolved.

If a cov/curse can be added to storehouse from hand, then a curse can be d/ced to fulfill Zimri.  It is the same situation, and Rob has said how covs/curses can be added to Storehouse.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: YourMathTeacher on February 17, 2009, 04:36:45 PM
I agree with you, but I was hoping for an "official" confirmation, no offense.
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 17, 2009, 04:47:03 PM
I agree with you, but I was hoping for an "official" confirmation, no offense.
None at all taken.  :thumbup:  I'm not too official.  :(



Quote
Army is still 8/8. Any decreases from previous turns cannot be negated. This is true of any special ability that completed on a previous turn.
+1, but isn't it actually on a previous phase?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: frisian9 on February 17, 2009, 08:19:05 PM
Just to clarify, though, you can discard Go Into Captivity to activate King Zimri's ability, right?

If GIC is in your hand, you can.  However, if it is in your artifact pile, you cannot.  When a curse is used a one side, the other side disappears.

I meant from hand, but I don't think that has been clearly resolved.

If a cov/curse can be added to storehouse from hand, then a curse can be d/ced to fulfill Zimri.  It is the same situation, and Rob has said how covs/curses can be added to Storehouse.

Correct. When it is in your hand, it is face value. However, when you pull it from your hand with the intent to use it as an enhancement, it is an enhancement. Similarly it becomes an artifact when you are taking it from your hand with intent to use it as an artifact.

Mike
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on February 17, 2009, 08:25:39 PM
However, just to clarify, when you take that cov out of storehouse, you can then use it as an art because it reset right?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: frisian9 on February 17, 2009, 08:30:42 PM
Any card returned to your hand resets to face value. So, you are correct!

Mike
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: Gohanick on February 21, 2009, 03:45:01 PM
so if i have intent of using a covenant from my deck as an artifact (or enhancement) I can search for it as though it were an artifact (or enhancment)?
Title: Re: Battle by the Numbers
Post by: EmJayBee83 on February 21, 2009, 04:05:45 PM
so if i have intent of using a covenant from my deck as an artifact (or enhancement) I can search for it as though it were an artifact (or enhancment)?
No. In the deck or discard pile a Covenant/Curse is a Covenant/Curse. You cannot search for it using a card that says search for enhancement/artifact.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal