Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DDiceRC on September 21, 2009, 05:52:54 PM

Title: Banding and withdraw
Post by: DDiceRC on September 21, 2009, 05:52:54 PM
I ran across a situation for which I forgot the ruling. If a "blocking character refuses to block" is played on a banding chain:

1) Does it only affect one EC in the chain, with the others remaining in place? (I said yes. This seems to be the clear intent of later versions, and of the "play as" in the REG for older cards.) The counter-argument was if you play it on the original EC, the banding never took place, so they all go back. However, the original banding is not negated by the withdrawal as I see it. (If this is true, would you then be able to return the rest of the chain to battle anyway by starting with EC #2 as the "new blocker"?)

2) If my ruling was correct for #1, can you still add another EC in place of the one removed, even though other characters are blocking? I said yes, based on the wording of the SA, but that comes from my time as a judge when cards were played "as written."
Title: Re: Banding and withdraw
Post by: thestrongangel on September 21, 2009, 09:40:58 PM
I ran across a situation for which I forgot the ruling. If a "blocking character refuses to block" is played on a banding chain:

1) Does it only affect one EC in the chain, with the others remaining in place? (I said yes. This seems to be the clear intent of later versions, and of the "play as" in the REG for older cards.) The counter-argument was if you play it on the original EC, the banding never took place, so they all go back. However, the original banding is not negated by the withdrawal as I see it. (If this is true, would you then be able to return the rest of the chain to battle anyway by starting with EC #2 as the "new blocker"?)

2) If my ruling was correct for #1, can you still add another EC in place of the one removed, even though other characters are blocking? I said yes, based on the wording of the SA, but that comes from my time as a judge when cards were played "as written."

1)  The banding abilities would have to be negated to force out the other characters.  Withdraw is simply forcing out one of the character, it does not undo their character abilities that occured when they blocked, in this case banding.  Cards your describing, like Lion Dwelling with a Calf and Death of Firstborn refer to a blocking evil character, and play as text refers to one character blocking.

2)  In this case, you would be allowed to choose another EC to enter the battle, even with the other characters banded in.  The may on the ability allows you to do so, but your not required to do so.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal