Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Legolas on March 09, 2016, 06:00:33 PM

Title: Band question
Post by: Legolas on March 09, 2016, 06:00:33 PM
I block with a character, he has initiative and plays Ezra's journey to band David and ahimelek into battle that will bring my philistine back to my hand, I can play bringing fear to negate Ezra's journey and I would not go into my hand correct?
Title: Re: Band question
Post by: Gabe on March 09, 2016, 06:06:47 PM
Ahimelek the Hittite is CBN if David is in play. Because of that you'll never get a chance to play Bringing Fear.
Title: Re: Band question
Post by: Legolas on March 09, 2016, 06:22:18 PM
so with CBN you don't get special initiative?
Title: Re: Band question
Post by: Nameless on March 09, 2016, 06:25:02 PM
You can't negate the card, so playing Bringing Fear does nothing and so does not get played.
Title: Re: Band question
Post by: kram1138 on March 09, 2016, 06:34:51 PM
To clarify, you do get SI, sort of. However, the only thing that can be played during SI is an enhancement that interrupts or negates the card removing your character from battle. Since Ahimelek can't be negated or interrupted, there are no card that fulfill the requirements of a card being played in SI, you simply can't play anything.

Another thing that may cause confusion is the cascade negate. In this example, you are right that negating Ezra's journey would cause Ahimelek to be cascade negated. However, Ahimelek is CBN. CBN applies to bring negated by abilities as well as game rules. If it's CBN, it can't be undone at all.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal