Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The M on May 14, 2012, 07:25:00 PM

Title: AUtO
Post by: The M on May 14, 2012, 07:25:00 PM
If the opponent bands to him and uses his ability, what happens if he
exchanges draw pile?
exchanges discard pile?
exchanges to hand?
exchanges to territory?
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on May 14, 2012, 07:29:38 PM
He'd go to his owner's draw pile, discard pile, or hand. He's be exchanged to your opponent's territory.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 14, 2012, 07:53:36 PM
Exchanging into hand is under debate currently. Some elders think he'd get exchanged into the holder's hand, some into owners, so it depends on your host for that one.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: Redoubter on May 14, 2012, 08:24:58 PM
Exchanging into hand is under debate currently. Some elders think he'd get exchanged into the holder's hand, some into owners, so it depends on your host for that one.

Agreed, unfortunately.  Deck and discard seem to have a consensus that they go to "owner's", but hand is being debated on the other side and it won't do us much good to argue it out currently :)

If you exchange to territory (must be your territory), then after battle control of those heroes change.  So, if you band in your opponent's AUtO and exchange him to your Gideon, after the battle control of AUtO goes to you, and control of Gideon goes to your opponent.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: SirNobody on May 14, 2012, 09:02:29 PM
Hey,

Quote from: REG:Take.Special Conditions
A take ability that takes a card from your opponent's hand (and thus places it in your hand) takes precedence over the rule that cards in a hand are at face value (and thus controlled by their owner).  That aspect of face value is suspended as long as that player maintains control of the card.  All other aspects of face value remain intact.

So unless the elders come back and say otherwise, it should be ruled that cards go to their owner's hand.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 14, 2012, 09:09:55 PM
Hey,

Quote from: REG:Take.Special Conditions
A take ability that takes a card from your opponent's hand (and thus places it in your hand) takes precedence over the rule that cards in a hand are at face value (and thus controlled by their owner).  That aspect of face value is suspended as long as that player maintains control of the card.  All other aspects of face value remain intact.

So unless the elders come back and say otherwise, it should be ruled that cards go to their owner's hand.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

Did you just write that?  ;)
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: SirNobody on May 14, 2012, 09:14:10 PM
Hey,

Did you just write that?  ;)

I did write it...but I wrote it about three years ago.  I found that quote when I was doing some research for the discussion on the other side.  I also found,

Quote from: REG:Return.How To Play
If a card is returned to a hand other than its owner's hand, it is returned to its owner's hand instead.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: Master KChief on May 14, 2012, 09:17:09 PM
Thank goodness for not another 'host discretion' scenario. -_-
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 14, 2012, 09:19:54 PM
Quote from: REG:Return.How To Play
If a card is returned to a hand other than its owner's hand, it is returned to its owner's hand instead.

Only you could have made that sentence sound so confusing. I bet you couldn't say that ten times fast.   ;)

Thanks for the clarification.  ;D
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: SirNobody on May 14, 2012, 09:23:11 PM
Hey,

Only you could have made that sentence sound so confusing.

Why thank you.

Quote
I bet you couldn't say that ten times fast.   ;)

Of course not, that's why I wrote it down :P

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 14, 2012, 09:24:46 PM
Quote
I bet you couldn't say that ten times fast.   ;)

Of course not, that's why I wrote it down :P

LOL. At least we have closure. Thank you for your dedication to the REG and to finding the answer.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: megamanlan on May 14, 2012, 09:49:03 PM
I'd still hold this open for discussion, since the Elders didn't seem to agree on another thread for the same issue.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: Prof Underwood on May 14, 2012, 11:53:43 PM
I'd still hold this open for discussion, since the Elders didn't seem to agree on another thread for the same issue.
Since this is currently stated in the REG, Sir Nobody is correct that hosts would be most wise to rule it that way for now.  It is true that the elders are discussing it, but until we announce a change, you should probably play it that way.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: megamanlan on May 14, 2012, 11:56:44 PM
Yep, I was just saying don't keep that as final yet.
Title: Re: AUtO
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 15, 2012, 03:23:34 PM
This is the problem with the guy who usually goes the opposite way of intuitive being the primary author of the rulings document...
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal