Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Wing on March 26, 2012, 12:55:18 PM

Title: AutO Question.
Post by: Red Wing on March 26, 2012, 12:55:18 PM
do I have to draw to exchange?

The Angel Under the Oak (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 8 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may draw 2 and exchange this Hero with a gold Judge in your hand, deck, territory, or discard pile. Protect Gideon from opponents. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Angel • Verse: Judges 6:11 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: AutO Question.
Post by: Chronic Apathy on March 26, 2012, 01:01:15 PM
No, the "May" ability allows you to do one but not the other if you wish, same as Reach of Desperation.
Title: Re: AutO Question.
Post by: TechnoEthicist on March 26, 2012, 01:17:00 PM
Reach's abilities are set off by commas....AutO's are not...so the question is are they connected or are the commas there for grammatical correctness (use of series and all that)...
Title: Re: AutO Question.
Post by: Chronic Apathy on March 26, 2012, 01:40:00 PM
My assumption is that the commas are only there to be grammatically correct. Regardless, I'm entirely positive that Oak's exchange ability can be used with the draw ability.
Title: Re: AutO Question.
Post by: Professoralstad on March 26, 2012, 01:43:15 PM
The comma for AutO would be unnecessary, but the principle is still there: "You may do X and Y" = "You may do X and you may do Y". The only time the second ability is non-optional apart from the first is in a conditional ability: "You may do X to do Y". If you do X, you must do Y. If you do not do X, you cannot do Y.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal