Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: birukfm on September 25, 2014, 03:15:14 PM

Title: auto gideon Q
Post by: birukfm on September 25, 2014, 03:15:14 PM
if Auto enters the battle and he changes with some character. and that character is grapsed away and Gideon comes into battle. my Question is since auto was already in battle and after grapes is played it is still considered battle phase, doesn't gideon get the protection. 
Title: Re: auto gideon Q
Post by: Redoubter on September 25, 2014, 03:34:40 PM
The protection (and ongoing abilities without an end time indicated) defaults to last until end of phase.  It would last until the end of the current Battle Phase, so if Gideon is brought in that battle, he is still protected.

HOWEVER: Grapes starts a NEW Battle Phase.  So the protection ended, and he is NOT protected in the NEW Battle Phase.
Title: Re: auto gideon Q
Post by: birukfm on September 25, 2014, 07:11:58 PM
okay thank you very much. that cleared my confusion. i thought it continued the existing phase.
Title: Re: auto gideon Q
Post by: Redoubter on September 25, 2014, 07:55:21 PM
okay thank you very much. that cleared my confusion. i thought it continued the existing phase.

It's something that isn't easily intuited from the existing rules, but anything that allows you to 'begin a new battle' afterwards causes a new battle phase for that new one.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal