Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Mr. Tumnus on November 15, 2013, 09:22:16 AM

Title: Assyrian Survivor & Hormah
Post by: Mr. Tumnus on November 15, 2013, 09:22:16 AM
Assyrian Survivor: "Protected from discard abilities on opponent's cards.  If defeated, capture to opponents Land of Bondage.  Cannot be Interrupted."

Hormah:  "If Your human Evil Character is discarded, you may place this Site and its contents beneath owner's deck"

Would a defeated (and therefore captured) Survivor trigger Hormah?  He's not actually being discarded.

Title: Re: Assyrian Survivor & Hormah
Post by: Professoralstad on November 15, 2013, 10:49:07 AM
Assyrian Survivor: "Protected from discard abilities on opponent's cards.  If defeated, capture to opponents Land of Bondage.  Cannot be Interrupted."

Hormah:  "If Your human Evil Character is discarded, you may place this Site and its contents beneath owner's deck"

Would a defeated (and therefore captured) Survivor trigger Hormah?  He's not actually being discarded.

No. You are correct that he is not being discarded, so he does not trigger Hormah.
Title: Re: Assyrian Survivor & Hormah
Post by: browarod on November 15, 2013, 11:28:25 AM
So Survivor is treated as an instead then? Because I've always thought that it was just an after-effect: he's defeated (discarded, captured, returned to hand/deck/territory, etc.) and then his trigger fires and he ends up in the opponent's LoB afterwards. If it's NOT an instead (since it doesn't say so on the card) then he WOULD be discarded, technically, so I would think it would trigger Hormah.

*is unsure*
Title: Re: Assyrian Survivor & Hormah
Post by: Professoralstad on November 15, 2013, 11:43:43 AM
So Survivor is treated as an instead then? Because I've always thought that it was just an after-effect: he's defeated (discarded, captured, returned to hand/deck/territory, etc.) and then his trigger fires and he ends up in the opponent's LoB afterwards. If it's NOT an instead (since it doesn't say so on the card) then he WOULD be discarded, technically, so I would think it would trigger Hormah.

*is unsure*

There was a ruling not long ago that abilities that conditionally tell you to do something other than the usual result for the condition (i.e. if X, do Y, where Y is not the usual result of Y) then it functions like an instead. This also applies to Potiphar's Wife, etc.
Title: Re: Assyrian Survivor & Hormah
Post by: browarod on November 15, 2013, 11:46:35 AM
So Survivor is treated as an instead then? Because I've always thought that it was just an after-effect: he's defeated (discarded, captured, returned to hand/deck/territory, etc.) and then his trigger fires and he ends up in the opponent's LoB afterwards. If it's NOT an instead (since it doesn't say so on the card) then he WOULD be discarded, technically, so I would think it would trigger Hormah.

*is unsure*

There was a ruling not long ago that abilities that conditionally tell you to do something other than the usual result for the condition (i.e. if X, do Y, where Y is not the usual result of Y) then it functions like an instead. This also applies to Potiphar's Wife, etc.
Ah, gotcha. I suppose that makes things simpler. Thanks for the info. :)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal