Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on May 07, 2018, 10:23:28 AM

Title: Ashkelon in Teams
Post by: Josh on May 07, 2018, 10:23:28 AM
Ashkelon - "If an O.T. Lost Soul is put here, each opponent must discard a card from hand." 
Identifier - Unity: Evil Humans (Philistine)

So in Teams with a shared Land of Bondage, if I or my teammate puts an OT LS in Ashkelon (and we each have Unity Philistines), both of our opponents discard 2 cards from hand?
Title: Re: Ashkelon in Teams
Post by: TheJaylor on May 07, 2018, 02:55:34 PM
Ashkelon - "If an O.T. Lost Soul is put here, each opponent must discard a card from hand." 
Identifier - Unity: Evil Humans (Philistine)

So in Teams with a shared Land of Bondage, if I or my teammate puts an OT LS in Ashkelon (and we each have Unity Philistines), both of our opponents discard 2 cards from hand?
I don't see why not. Although, that doesn't raise the question, does Unity target the ability of the card or whether or not the player can use the card? Take Josh's example, for instance, if I have Unity Philistines but my teammate doesn't and Ashkelon is in our shared Land of Bondage, then do our opponents have to discard a card from hand?
Title: Re: Ashkelon in Teams
Post by: Josh on May 07, 2018, 04:35:35 PM
I don't see why not. Although, that doesn't raise the question, does Unity target the ability of the card or whether or not the player can use the card? Take Josh's example, for instance, if I have Unity Philistines but my teammate doesn't and Ashkelon is in our shared Land of Bondage, then do our opponents have to discard a card from hand?

The way I see it, both players control Ashkelon and read its ability/identifiers from their perspective.  But Ashkelon is still treated as being in only my territory (for my activation) and only in my teammate's territory (for his/her activation).  It's not treating us as a combined entity.  So I think each opponent would discard 1 from hand.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal