Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on May 31, 2013, 09:37:01 PM
-
Why is http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Asherah_Pole_(Ki) (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Asherah_Pole_(Ki)) not able to be put into Solomon's Temple? The temple does not limit itself to temple artifacts through a play as or an Errata, in fact it says that it can hold any artifact that was found in the temple. While regrettable, an Asherah pole was erected within the temple on multiple occasions.
-
Another card seems to indicate that it can be held (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Glory_of_the_Lord_%28Ki%29)
EDIT: The REG says no:
NOTE: Several items may be periodically found in the temple, but are not considered part of this category (e.g., Asherah Pole (Ki), Priestly Breastplate (CL), Priestly Breastplate (CU) or Priestly Breastplate (Pi), Priestly Crown (E), Urim and Thummim (Pi)).
But Glory of the Lord seems to indicate that it Asherah Pole can be held there:
Glory of the Lord
Place in territory. Holder's Solomon's Temple and the Artifact in it cannot be discarded or negated by an opponent. Discard this card if Asherah Pole is in holder's Solomon's Temple.
Can we get some clarity on what these cards mean, please?
-
Another card seems to indicate that it can be held (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Glory_of_the_Lord_%28Ki%29)
That doesn't necessarily indicate that it can be held. It simply states what would happen if it were to be held, but makes no ruling that it can be so.
-
If I recall, I seem to remember Asherah Pole used to be able to be in Solomon's Temple. But I think that changed around FooF...or was it Priests. Either way, Glory was one way to try and make Ash Pole not OP.
-
The Artifacts originally allowed in Solomon's Temple used to be more liberal and allowed items that were sometimes found there but not intended to go there, such as Ashera Pole. That's the reason that Glory of the Lord is worded the way it is. Upon the release of the Priests set, Cactus tightened the definition of Temple Artifacts to only include items that God ordained to go into the Temple. Thus the definition we currently have in the REG today.
-
Sounds good, thanks for the responses to that, didn't start playing until after Priests was already out ;)
-
The Artifacts originally allowed in Solomon's Temple used to be more liberal and allowed items that were sometimes found there but not intended to go there, such as Ashera Pole. That's the reason that Glory of the Lord is worded the way it is. Upon the release of the Priests set, Cactus tightened the definition of Temple Artifacts to only include items that God ordained to go into the Temple. Thus the definition we currently have in the REG today.
I understand why Asherah Pole isn't a temple artifact, that makes perfect sense. But Tempe artifacts weren't defined as such when the Temple was printed and it doesn't limit itself to temple artifacts, but rather to any artifact that was found there. I understand that a game rule is trumping the card's wording here, I'm just wondering why this rule was enacted. Were these few artifacts bothersome enough that a rule was needed to change the way the temple worked? It would have only worked with Solomon's temple and that follows the biblical account.