Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minister Polarius on August 24, 2009, 04:38:45 PM
-
Asherah Pole says that when blocking an N.T. Hero, Evil Enhancements Cannot be Negated. So my question is this: if I start a side battle with Troops Discharged, are my enhancements still CBN? I'm still blocking an N.T. Hero, but idk if it counts.
-
A-Pole says blocking O.T.......
-
You get the point.
-
Asherah Pole says that when blocking an N.T. O.T. Hero, Evil Enhancements Cannot be Negated. So my question is this: if I start a side battle with Troops Discharged, are my enhancements still CBN? I'm still blocking an N.T. O.T. Hero, but idk if it counts.
Yes it works no matter who, what, when, where, or why you are blocking. The only thing that needs to be satisfied is an O.T. hero must be in the battle.
-
I think the SA only applies to the battle at hand, in which case you are not blocking.
If we are going to expand the wording to say that the SA is in effect for the entire phase as long as the phase started with a block versus an OT hero, then both sides of the side-battle would have CBN enhancements.
-
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: When blocking any O.T. Hero, evil enhancements cannot be negated. Discard if Gideon, King Asa, King Hezekiah, or King Josiah enters battle. • Play As: When any player is blocking an O.T. Hero, evil enhancements cannot be negated. Discard if Gideon, King Asa, King Hezekiah, or King Josiah enters battle. • Identifiers: OT, Depicts an Idol, False Religious Practice • Verse: Exodus 34:13 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)
It doesn't specify anything about the block except that there must be a block. So that seems pretty obvious to me that all you have to do is block an OT hero and your enhancements cannot be negated, no matter whether it is a b/c, a ra, or a second battle. I overlooked this earlier and change my answer to his specific question at hand...when two EC's are fighting each other there is no "blocking" going on so yes in a side battle when fighting another EC your enhancements can be negated.
-
Hey,
A side battle card suspends the main battle and allows a second battle. Suspending the main battle suspends the fact that you are blocking an O.T. hero, so Asherah Pole's ability does not affect the side battle.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
-
Hey,
A side battle card suspends the main battle and allows a second battle. Suspending the main battle suspends the fact that you are blocking an O.T. hero, so Asherah Pole's ability does not affect the side battle.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Well the thing is...the only case where a second battle between a hero and EC can happen at the same time is Ambush the city. And in that case the second time you block you are still blocking an OT hero so your enhancements cant be negated. All other second battle cards involve EC's or heroes to fight each other and they can't block each other so there is no block going on. Grapes of Wrath causes a second rescue attempt in which case you are still blocking...so I don't see a case where asherah pole wont work unless there is a NT hero or there is a hero vs hero or EC vs EC going on.
-
Hey,
A side battle card suspends the main battle and allows a second battle. Suspending the main battle suspends the fact that you are blocking an O.T. hero, so Asherah Pole's ability does not affect the side battle.
Tschow,
Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Cite? My EC is still there blocking his O.T. Hero, and you also haven't addressed the question of whether Asherah Pole gets triggered by the block and is not Negated.
-
Ok I understand the question now....and it is more confusing than I thought. You are asking that if the SA "when blocking any OT hero" is met that while that "blocking" is going on, your EE's cannot be negated no matter where they are played?
I personally don't know but I asked my Dad for a ruling and he says that it applies only to the battle in which the block is going on.
-
Nothing on the card or in the rules says that.
-
I guess it's implied, or a "play as" situation. Not sure you would need to get an official ruling on this which I cannot give. I can simply give my opinion which is that you are right. I think why you are blocking an OT hero, your EE's cannot be negated anywhere because the condition for Asherah Pole to work is met.
-
If the battle where an EC is blocking is suspended, A-Pole doesn't work because it specifies that it only works "when blocking." You're not blocking in an EC v EC side battle.
From the Rulebook (Diagram of a Turn > Battle Phase > Side Battles (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/sidebattles.htm))
"The original battle is temporarily suspended until the side battle is completed."
-
but what he is saying is that in a side battle the conditions on Asherah Pole "when blocking any OT hero" are still being met in the other battle so your evil enhancements cannot be negated wherever they are played.
-
If the other battle is suspended, the block isn't happening.
suspension (http://wordnetweb.princeton.edu/perl/webwn?s=suspension) - pause: a time interval during which there is a temporary cessation of something.
If something is suspended, it isn't happening at all.
-
Is that a "play as" on the enhancements that cause second battles, the word suspend?
-
No, it's from the rulebook's explanation of side battles:
From the Rulebook (Diagram of a Turn > Battle Phase > Side Battles (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/sidebattles.htm))
"The original battle is temporarily suspended until the side battle is completed."
-
Ah, well thanks that is what this thread needed. An official ruling. So Asherah Pole only works for the battle where the EC is blocking? Now what about Ambush the City? Does the second RA count as a block when you block and thus enable Asherah Pole to work?
-
In the new battle, an EC is blocking a hero, so A-Pole would work (assuming the hero is OT). A-Pole isn't limited to only one battle, just battles that are hero v EC.
-
Ok...thanks for the ruling! :)