Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on February 17, 2014, 10:40:16 PM

Title: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: Praeceps on February 17, 2014, 10:40:16 PM
If you negate and discard a fortress that holds other cards (like Storehouse, Fishing Boat) what happens to the contents?
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: MitchRobStew on February 17, 2014, 10:45:59 PM
Discarded.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: christiangamer25 on February 17, 2014, 10:46:50 PM
no i don't think so cause the part on holding stuff is an identifier i thought not a sa
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: christiangamer25 on February 17, 2014, 10:50:20 PM
the reason is cards follow the fortress when its discarded not because of the negation.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: Chris on February 18, 2014, 04:29:40 PM
When a Fortress that is holding other cards is negated, the cards stay in limbo; they cannot be removed from the Fortress. When the discard happens, the cards are then discarded along with the Fortress.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: RTSmaniac on February 19, 2014, 10:10:44 PM
What is the ruling on Judges Seat with Oak exchanging with a judge in Judges Seat?
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: browarod on February 19, 2014, 11:17:05 PM
Seat can't hold Oak so I would think either you couldn't exchange for that one or else Oak just gets kicked out to territory.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: TheJaylor on February 19, 2014, 11:41:23 PM
You can exchange with the judge. Oak would then stay there until the fortress updates again in your following upkeep* PREP phase when Seat checks for a judge and kicks Oak back to territory.

*fixed
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: browarod on February 20, 2014, 09:49:06 AM
Oak would then stay there until the fortress updates again in your following upkeep when Seat checks for a judge and kicks Oak back to territory.
I don't believe that is correct. Holds identifiers are always active, they don't "check" at given times. Otherwise with the cards that let you search for and activate artifacts on a Temple you could put a non-Temple artifact there and it would stay until the next preparation phase, which has been ruled not to be the case. Judge's Seat should never be able to hold anything other than a gold judge at any time.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: TheJaylor on February 20, 2014, 04:05:22 PM
I know for sure that you can exchange with the judge and I think the reason Oak stays there until prep. phase (not upkeep, I mixed those up in my last post) is because you can only add or remove heroes from fortresses during prep. I'm not sure what cards you're referring to when you say search for an artifact and activate it in your temple because I can't think of any cards that say that without specifying "temple/tabernacle artifact".
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: browarod on February 20, 2014, 04:51:35 PM
I don't know either because I've never used them. :P

I do know that there was a discussion about it and (I'm pretty sure) it was ruled that you cannot contradict the Holds identifier of a fortress at any time.

I'm not disagreeing that you can exchange, I should have edited that part out of my quote. I'm just questioning Oak hanging around on the Seat.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: Redoubter on February 20, 2014, 05:04:30 PM
I agree with browarod that AutO goes to territory in that scenario, at least that is how I have had it ruled before.

The judge in Seat is in territory, and is not protected from effect.  Therefore, he is a legal target for AutO.

The 'hold' on Seat does not allow for AutO to be there, so while he is exchanged to territory, he is not placed in Seat.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: Noah on February 20, 2014, 07:58:11 PM
I don't know either because I've never used them. :P

Correct me if I'm wrong but I think the card you might be referring to is Ithamar, son of Aaron who's ability reads,

Search draw pile for The Tabernacle and put it in play. You may activate an Artifact on The Tabernacle.
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: Redoubter on February 20, 2014, 09:16:19 PM
Search draw pile for The Tabernacle and put it in play. You may activate an Artifact on The Tabernacle.

Just to clarify in this thread because we don't want any confusion with people thinking it is allowable to activate a non-Tabernacle artifact on the Tabernacle:

I don't think the official conclusion to this discussion was announced.  At least not that I see here.  This is Rob's decision.

The identifier on The Tabernacle Reads:  Holds one active Tabernacle Artifact.  That gives us our answer.  Ithamar can't force The Tabernacle to do something it can't do.

It also lends to the ruling that AutO would not go to Seat, but would instead end up where he exchanged to that was allowable (that is, territory).
Title: Re: ASA vs. Fortress
Post by: TheJaylor on February 21, 2014, 10:43:10 AM
Hmm. That's probably the case. I've seen people do it before and I thought they played where it stayed there but I guess not.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal