Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on August 29, 2017, 02:42:48 PM

Title: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Jeremystair on August 29, 2017, 02:42:48 PM
If you activate an artifact let's say image of the Beast does it stay active until the beginning of your next turn. Continuously negating the card you chose?

If an opponent discards image of the Beast its ability still stays active until the beginning of your next turn. Even if it's not in play?

(https://static.wixstatic.com/media/3ecdb9_aa25e8e9839b4666a6ab37e9a6ab21b5~mv2.png/v1/fill/w_384,h_518,al_c,lg_1/3ecdb9_aa25e8e9839b4666a6ab37e9a6ab21b5~mv2.png)

Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Kevinthedude on August 29, 2017, 02:46:02 PM
It's an ongoing ability. If it is discarded its effect will persist until the end of the phase it was discarded in. Unlike Woes it does not specify "for one round" so if you do not interact with it it will negate the same target indefinitely even over multiple rounds.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Watchman on August 29, 2017, 03:28:49 PM
It's an ongoing ability. If it is discarded its effect will persist until the end of the phase it was discarded in. Unlike Woes it does not specify "for one round" so if you do not interact with it it will negate the same target indefinitely even over multiple rounds.

I asked a similar question on the forum recently, and an elder said that during my next prep phase a card like IotB would automatically reset, so it won't persist indefinitely but I would have to reactivate it, not turn it over then back over but simply choose the same or a new target each prep phase. I believe this is how it was worded. I'll try and have to find the post to confirm.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Jeremystair on August 29, 2017, 03:49:15 PM
So if my opponent plays the three woes on his turn to negate my artifact when it's my turn can I turn it off and back on to use it again or is it still negated?
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Minister Polarius on August 30, 2017, 12:23:10 AM
If you turn it down then back up again what you've actually signaled is that you're leaving it active. You'd have to actually deactivate it for a round but then after that you could use it again.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Watchman on August 30, 2017, 08:15:19 AM
So if my opponent plays the three woes on his turn to negate my artifact when it's my turn can I turn it off and back on to use it again or is it still negated?

I remember reading in a post (perhaps the same post I mentioned above) that even if you deactivate then immediately activate it again it would still be negated.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Jeremystair on August 30, 2017, 08:42:47 AM
I'm not disagreeing I'm just trying to understand. Things that leave play Reset themselves right? So if a card goes to hand or the deck which is out of play then they reset themselves.

Face down artifacts are "in territory" but they are not in play. A card that discards a card "in opponent's territory" could discard a face down artifact.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: The Guardian on August 30, 2017, 09:03:38 AM
That was actually an incorrect statement as face-down artifacts are now considered in play.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Jeremystair on August 30, 2017, 09:17:11 AM
That was actually an incorrect statement as face-down artifacts are now considered in play.

Can you confirm what Kevinthedude said about the first two questions?
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Watchman on August 30, 2017, 09:18:45 AM
That was actually an incorrect statement as face-down artifacts are now considered in play.

The first part of that quote is incorrect but not the second part, correct? Face down arts can still be targeted, right?
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: ArmedKevin117 on August 30, 2017, 09:26:47 AM
If you turn it down then back up again what you've actually signaled is that you're leaving it active. You'd have to actually deactivate it for a round but then after that you could use it again.

If I recall correctly, there's a loophole.  Activating Urrim and Thummim counts as activating a different artifact, but when it lets you de-activate itself and activate a new one, you can re-activate the one Woes negated.  It counts as a new instance of the artifact, so Woes is not still negating it.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Bobbert on August 30, 2017, 03:13:41 PM
On a related note to Kevin, how does this interact with Temples?
Say I have Ark of the Covenant active in my artifact pile and it gets negated by Image of the Beast. I can't underdeck Image (an idol) if I leave Ark up. What if I move it to a Temple? Does that count as de- and re-activating, a la U&T, or is it just always active?
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: Watchman on August 30, 2017, 03:25:48 PM
On a related note to Kevin, how does this interact with Temples?
Say I have Ark of the Covenant active in my artifact pile and it gets negated by Image of the Beast. I can't underdeck Image (an idol) if I leave Ark up. What if I move it to a Temple? Does that count as de- and re-activating, a la U&T, or is it just always active?

If you were to move the Ark's location to a temple instead of your art pile it won't have any affect on it still being negated, deactivated or activated. You're simply changing its location.
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: The Guardian on August 30, 2017, 03:26:19 PM
If you were to move the Ark's location to a temple instead of your art pile it won't have any affect on it still being negated, deactivated or activated. You're simply changing its location.

+1
Title: Re: Artifacts activation?
Post by: coknight on August 31, 2017, 07:49:15 PM
another oh boy, when will they be giving a degree in understanding the rules...Geewiz
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal