Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on June 19, 2012, 12:16:50 AM
-
Can you deactivate and reactivate the same artifact in the same turn?
-
No, If you do, you treat it as it was never deactivated.
-
There's one "artifact maintenance" part of the Prep Phase. During that, you either keep the same artifact up, re-activating it (so if you keep Captured Ark active a second turn, you automatically shuffle the opposing artifacts and discard Captured Ark); change the artifact, activating that one; or de-activating all artifacts. You cannot de-activate an artifact, do other actions, and then activate an artifact, whether the same or a different one.
-
What if you are moving it into a temple (or onto another card)? Or does that happen at the same time as well?
-
What if you are moving it into a temple (or onto another card)? Or does that happen at the same time as well?
Does not count as an activation.
-
You can deactivat and reactivate an artifact in the same turn but you cannot do anything in between. For example you cannot have CWD active, deactivate it, play a territory class card, then reactivate CWD.
You could however for example flip an artifact that causes a discard down then up every turn.
-
Everyone above me is correct. Additionally, if you were to use a card like, say, Four-Drachma Coin to draw, you could then activate any artifacts that you just drew, as long as they are activated somewhere other than the pile.
-
Can you deactivate and reactivate the same artifact in the same turn?
Is this a Meal in Emmaus question?
(I thought I'd ask since everyone was quick to assume it was a prep phase question. ;) )
-
Can you deactivate and reactivate the same artifact in the same turn?
Is this a Meal in Emmaus question?
(I thought I'd ask since everyone was quick to assume it was a prep phase question. ;) )
No, no it isn't. I was actually in a teams game where someone wanted to flip down alter of ahaz, sog nj, then flip it back up. Honestly, it had little to do with who won, but I wanted to check the legality of it. No issue, and now we know that it isn't possible to do.
-
Hummmmm, I know (you) can't play anthing in between your artifact activation but im not sure about your teammate (or opponent for that matter
-
Are you reading this Prof Underwood? No more cheating! :o
-
Why, a mod cheating?? Say it is not so! You may have to ban him... :police:
-
And he errata'd all the cards in his deck to be battle-winners. (lol)
-
Are you reading this Prof Underwood? No more cheating! :o
I am indeed. I thought that as long as you allowed all the other players to also play cards while the artifact was de-activated that it would be OK (ie. turn on LotS, play your Burial, allow your opponent to play their Burial, then turn LotS back on). However the point brought up here about TC-enhs is a good one, because your opponent would not be ABLE to play their cards while an art like Darius Decree was temporarily off (because it wouldn't be their turn).
Therefore, I agree with this ruling.
It's a good thing that we never actually turned an artifact back on after turning it off.
-
Are you reading this Prof Underwood? No more cheating! :o
I am indeed. I thought that as long as you allowed all the other players to also play cards while the artifact was de-activated that it would be OK (ie. turn on LotS, play your Burial, allow your opponent to play their Burial, then turn LotS back on). However the point brought up here about TC-enhs is a good one, because your opponent would not be ABLE to play their cards while an art like Darius Decree was temporarily off (because it wouldn't be their turn).
Therefore, I agree with this ruling.
It's a good thing that we never actually turned an artifact back on after turning it off.
As said, it had no effect on our game play :D