Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Alpho on May 04, 2010, 02:01:39 PM
-
Hey there! I have another question for you all.
What do you do when two artifacts directly contradict each other. For example the case I am thinking of involves Unholy Writ and Blue Tassels. If Unholy Writ is supposed to capture a hero when the hero enters battle. However if Blue Tassels is activated this can't happen. So how does this work? Is it whatever artifact was activated first? What is the deciding factor?
Thanks for your help
Alpho
-
In a case like this, yes its simply a matter of which is active first.
If Blue Tassels is active first, the heroes are protected from being captured.
If Unholy Writ activates first, Blue Tassels does nothing against captures that have already happened.
-
If Unholy Writ activates first, Blue Tassels does nothing against captures that have already happened.
This feels wrong.
My opponent activates Unholy Writ, ends his turn.
I activate my Blue Tassels, make a Rescue Attempt. I am now protected from unholy writ because he couldn't target me until I was in battle, But I was protected before battle so He cannot use it's ability.
-
Yeah, that answer came from way out in left field. Blue Tassles stops UW.
-
In a case like this, yes its simply a matter of which is active first.
If Blue Tassels is active first, the heroes are protected from being captured.
If Unholy Writ activates first, Blue Tassels does nothing against captures that have already happened.
I believe he means artifacts do not work retroactively. In the case of BT Vs UW BT wins NOT BECAUSE OF THE PREVENT but because of the protect. Yes BT is a protect, it boggles the mind.
-
Ok thanks!
-
By activate I meant using UW to capture. Sorry if I caused any confusion.
-
Are there any ongoing abilities that Protect abilities can protect from?
-
Yeah. Protection of Angels beats an evil Ignore enhancement.
-
Yeah. Protection of Angels beats an evil Ignore enhancement.
...Is this a joke? Or are you serious?
-
If Protection was played first, yeah. I think. I don't really understand how Ignore works anymore.
-
I don't really understand how Ignore works anymore.
Me neither...