Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Ammian on October 09, 2010, 06:29:48 PM

Title: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Ammian on October 09, 2010, 06:29:48 PM
I know these are a lot of questions, but I've been meaning to ask them for a while.

If the opponent activates Ark of the Covenant and then captures the evil character I send out, does that evil character stay in their land of bondage as a lost soul or does it then get discarded (despite the fact that it is no longer an evil character)?  What about if the evil character is removed from the game?  Returned to hand?  Placed in Tartaros?  Converted?

Thank you for your patience,
Ammian
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 08:56:58 PM
I believe that Ark (and Thirty Pieces of Silver for Heroes) only targets evil character(s) still in battle after battle resolution. So, Ark would only discard an EC if they beat you by numbers or with an ability.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Ammian on October 09, 2010, 10:14:26 PM
I'm almost sure that's wrong...check the rules on E & F...

Doesn't it say even if the evil character was already discarded, it counts as one of the two discards?

Hmmm...this question is not yet answered for me...
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 10:16:06 PM
Activating either of them counts as a use regardless of if anything is discarded with them. That doesn't affect what I said earlier :P.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Red on October 09, 2010, 10:27:13 PM
Activating either of them counts as a use regardless of if anything is discarded with them. That doesn't affect what I said earlier :P.
No if it doesn't discard it doesn't use it. Check your rulebook. Page 11 example 1.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 10:28:48 PM
Activating either of them counts as a use regardless of if anything is discarded with them. That doesn't affect what I said earlier :P.
No if it doesn't discard it doesn't use it. Check your rulebook. Page 11 example 1.
I've always heard it ruled that an activation counts as a use.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Red on October 09, 2010, 10:32:15 PM
Not in the case of Ark, and 30 pieces. Oh by the way it's the latest rulebook.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 10:35:21 PM
Not in the case of Ark, and 30 pieces. Oh by the way it's the latest rulebook.
The "latest rulebook" also says that negate is "the same as 'interrupt and prevent' combined" which it's been ruled not to be.

EDIT: You're actually incorrect. My rulebook says "Artifacts that contain the phrase "regardless of...outcome" are also considered used even if their effect is duplicated by another card."
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 09, 2010, 10:40:44 PM
Regardless of battle outcome one Evil Character an opponent uses to block a rescue attempt is discarded at the end of battle. Limit holder to two such discards per game.

Uses =/= Discards.

It ONLY dies after it discards two ECs, period.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Red on October 09, 2010, 10:44:52 PM
Not in the case of Ark, and 30 pieces. Oh by the way it's the latest rulebook.
The "latest rulebook" also says that negate is "the same as 'interrupt and prevent' combined" which it's been ruled not to be.

EDIT: You're actually incorrect. My rulebook says "Artifacts that contain the phrase "regardless of...outcome" are also considered used even if their effect is duplicated by another card."
Link?
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 10:47:45 PM
Quote from: http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/examplelimitedactivation.htm
You activate the artifact Ark of the Covenant which has the special ability, “Regardless of battle out­come, any Evil Character an opponent uses to block a res­cue attempt is discarded at the end of battle. Limit Holder to two such discards per game.” During the battle your Hero’s strength is enough to discard your opponent’s block­ing Evil Character. Nevertheless, since you activated Ark of the Covenant, you must still count this discard as one of your two discards with Ark of the Covenant.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 09, 2010, 10:50:46 PM
Ark of the Covenant has a "Play As":

Play As: Regardless of battle outcome, discard one Evil Character in play at the end of battle that your opponent used to block your rescue attempt. May be used once per battle and twice per game.

The SA is "discard" and the target is "one evil character in play." You can not target any of the ECs used in the battle that are no longer ECs in play.

The Play As does not use the "two discards" wording, but rather the "two uses" wording. I agree with those who have said that this artifact can only be activated twice per game.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 09, 2010, 10:55:21 PM
Disregard the play as, its more like an errata. We've been told numerous times to ignore play as when they change the card completely.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: christiangamer25 on October 09, 2010, 10:56:22 PM
lol and here we go again
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 11:04:17 PM
Disregard the play as, its more like an errata. We've been told numerous times to ignore play as when they change the card completely.
Well, I posted a REG link....
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Red on October 09, 2010, 11:04:29 PM
Whew! I found an elder ruleing on the subject.: http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=23338.msg366731#msg366731 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=23338.msg366731#msg366731) BTW elders beat REG now.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Ammian on October 09, 2010, 11:16:04 PM
I'm so confused...what do I do?
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: christiangamer25 on October 09, 2010, 11:19:06 PM
lol wait on this thread to be resolved unfortuneately you seem to have disturbed a beehive again not your fault
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: browarod on October 09, 2010, 11:19:49 PM
I invoke the "2 Elders = consensus" rule. Since Brian's post is different than the standard thinking at that date (and now), and since the Errata disguised as a Play As throws further confusion in, I think we should get an Elder to confirm (or revoke) Brian's posting from the other thread.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: christiangamer25 on October 09, 2010, 11:20:55 PM
i agree
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Ammian on October 09, 2010, 11:28:27 PM
Definitely.  'Cause this can get kind of important in games.

Thanks, and I'll be waiting for an elder ruling.

Ammian
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on October 09, 2010, 11:33:28 PM
Quote from: http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/examplelimitedactivation.htm
You activate the artifact Ark of the Covenant which has the special ability, “Regardless of battle out­come, any Evil Character an opponent uses to block a res­cue attempt is discarded at the end of battle. Limit Holder to two such discards per game.” During the battle your Hero’s strength is enough to discard your opponent’s block­ing Evil Character. Nevertheless, since you activated Ark of the Covenant, you must still count this discard as one of your two discards with Ark of the Covenant.

this is how i have always played it.....
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on October 09, 2010, 11:39:07 PM
I agree with that ruling being accurate, though i disagree with the ruling overall.

However, the discussion is now about if you have ark up for two turns and never make a RA, if it burns its uses.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Master KChief on October 10, 2010, 01:05:23 AM
no elder needed. i have the answer.

yes, covenant of noah is name-on-name with noah. 4/10 to the face. deal with it.
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 10, 2010, 01:26:46 PM
But how do we know they're the same Noah???? Am I supposed to bring a bible with me when I play Redemption (considering no church will ever have a bible) so I can check the surrounding passages?
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Ammian on October 10, 2010, 03:28:09 PM
I do apologize for disturbing this Hornet's Nest, but I would like to know the answer to my more immediate question:

If an evil character targeted by AoC is captured, does it then get discarded (after it is sent to your land of bondage)?  (Sort of like a poor man's Burial?)  What if it's redeemed by Son of God or New Jerusalem in the meantime?  Does AoC discard it even when it is in the Land of Redemption?  (Sort of like a poor man's Falling Away?)  If so, does that one dominant protect it from being discarded?  How far does AoC's reach extend?

Likewise with if the evil character is removed from play, set aside, returned to hand or shuffled into a player's draw deck.  Is it still discarded by AoC?

Still wondering,
Ammian
Title: Re: Ark of the Covenant v Capture
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 10, 2010, 03:32:45 PM
AOC discards evil characters in play. When a character is captured, it is a captured character, which is not a character (in Redemption, atleast). AOC would not discard it. When a captured character is rescued, it is a redeemed soul....  not a captured character, and not a character. AOC wouldn't touch it in the LoR.

AOC only discards those in play. You won't be discarded if you're set aside. You won't be discarded if you're removed from the game (once something is removed from the game, you can't do anything to it for the rest of the game), you won't be able to discard it from deck, you won't be able to discard it from hand. You can only discard the evil characters in play.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal