Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on July 19, 2017, 12:10:57 PM

Title: Antipas instead?
Post by: Jeremystair on July 19, 2017, 12:10:57 PM
If my opponent plays
korah's rebellion (Interrupt the battle and remove all cards in battle from the game) and I use

Antipas (if opponents card banishes one or more of your good cards you may discard Antipas instead)

Does his cards still get banished and mine stay in battle?

Also does this create special Initiative for him to play a card?
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: Zerutul on July 19, 2017, 12:12:58 PM
If my opponent plays
korah's rebellion (Interrupt the battle and remove all cards in battle from the game) and I use

Antipas (if opponents card banishes one or more of your good cards you may discard Antipas instead)

Does his cards still get banished and mine stay in battle?

Also does this create special Initiative for him to play a card?

His card would be banished and would not give him special initiative I believe. Yours would stay in battle because the banish is no longer triggered on your hero it got "insteaded" off of him by Antipas.
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: The Guardian on July 19, 2017, 12:17:15 PM
^^Correct. The opponent does not get special initiative to interrupt his own removal ability.

This is assuming Antipas is active in territory. If he is in battle, his ability would be interrupted so he could not instead.
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: Jeremystair on July 19, 2017, 12:18:12 PM
One more question if you play Love righteousness which lets you search out a white hero do they get put in territory or hand or either one you choose?
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: Ironisaac on July 19, 2017, 12:19:03 PM
Why does antipas not instead the entire ability?
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: Watchman on July 19, 2017, 12:23:52 PM
One more question if you play Love righteousness which lets you search out a white hero do they get put in territory or hand or either one you choose?

Unless a search ability specifies to put the card in play or in territory then it always defaults to hand.
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: The Guardian on July 19, 2017, 12:27:48 PM
Why does antipas not instead the entire ability?

Hmm, that's a good question...let me look into that.

One more question if you play Love righteousness which lets you search out a white hero do they get put in territory or hand or either one you choose?

Unless a search ability specifies to put the card in play or in territory then it always defaults to hand.

Correct.
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: Gabe on July 19, 2017, 12:37:24 PM
Why does antipas not instead the entire ability?

Antipas (if opponents card banishes one or more of your good cards you may discard Antipas instead)

The bolded part is what the discard of Antipas replaces with the instead ability. If other cards that are either "not yours" or they are yours but they are "not good" then they are still banished.
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: Josh on July 19, 2017, 12:38:12 PM
Why does antipas not instead the entire ability?

He insteads what he insteads - the banish of your good card(s).  In the example of Korah's Rebellion, you discard Antipas instead of banishing the heroes targeted by Korah's Rebellion.

If an opponent plays Rizpah's Sackcloth to discard all cards in battle, and you have a NT human hero in battle and Herod's Temple in play, does Herod's Temple save the EC if you use it to "Instead" the discard of your NT human hero?  Same concept - part of the ability gets insteaded, because Antipas can only instead the banish of your good cards.
Title: Re: Antipas instead?
Post by: The Guardian on July 19, 2017, 12:46:24 PM
+1 with Gabe and Josh.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal