Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on September 15, 2010, 12:19:30 PM

Title: Another Taunt question
Post by: Josh on September 15, 2010, 12:19:30 PM
Suppose my opponent "taunts" me with his Goliath.  Can I use my Philistine Outpost's ability?

Philly Outpost - "When you are attacked, you may discard this card or an evil card from deck to search discard pile for a generic Philistine and place it in your territory. Protect Sites from being placed beneath decks."
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: browarod on September 15, 2010, 12:24:01 PM
Yes? There's no definition for Taunt in the REG yet (that I could find), so I assume it's still an attack the same as any other battle challenge/rescue attempt.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Professoralstad on September 15, 2010, 12:26:39 PM
Yes. A Taunt is a Battle Challenge, and a Battle Challenge is an attack.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 15, 2010, 12:32:55 PM
Another question.

Do cards such as Asherah Pole work during Taunts? The evil character isn't blocking, they are attacking...
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Josh on September 15, 2010, 12:38:43 PM
Another question.

Do cards such as Asherah Pole work during Taunts? The evil character isn't blocking, they are attacking...
I'm sure the answer will be no.  Otherwise Goliath + Philly Horses + Wrath of Satan + Asherah Pole = never gonna happen

Edit:  Actually that wouldn't work, since no hero is in battle.  But I'm sure the answer will still be no  :)
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: browarod on September 15, 2010, 12:41:06 PM
In the current REG. blocking is defined thus: "Blocking is the attempt to prevent a rescue." Since there is no rescue in a battle challenge, it would not be a block (which then begs the question of whether Asherah Pole would work during a traditional battle challenge. I always figured it would, but this seems to say it wouldn't).
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 15, 2010, 12:44:08 PM
This also raises the question....

What happens if an opponent drops harvest time during a taunt?
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Josh on September 15, 2010, 12:59:11 PM
This also raises the question....

What happens if an opponent drops harvest time during a taunt?
Or if they accept with a hero like Martha and draw a lost soul.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on September 15, 2010, 01:01:36 PM
Adding one more related question to the pile, based on the Apole question...

Say my opponent RAs with NT Mike to TSA. I play Neb's Dream for numbers, they band in an OT hero... does Apole then go back in time and grant Nebs Dream CBN status, allowing me to discard a hero?
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: browarod on September 15, 2010, 01:09:27 PM
Adding one more related question to the pile, based on the Apole question...

Say my opponent RAs with NT Mike to TSA. I play Neb's Dream for numbers, they band in an OT hero... does Apole then go back in time and grant Nebs Dream CBN status, allowing me to discard a hero?
Asherah Pole says "while blocking" which is an ongoing status (according to a recent ruling in another thread) so I would assume it would indeed grant it CBN status, though I don't know if going back in time to actually use the ability is within the rules since Redemption frowns upon time travel.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 15, 2010, 01:34:23 PM
No. Cards either are or aren't CBN/I/P when played.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on September 15, 2010, 01:38:15 PM
No. Cards either are or aren't CBN/I/P when played.

+1 if he brings him in then the enhancements from now on become cbn not the ones you already played since no ot hero was in battle when they were played
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: browarod on September 15, 2010, 01:41:17 PM
No. Cards either are or aren't CBN/I/P when played.
Presumably, anything played after AP activated would be CBN, though, right?

*instaposted*

I agree with 3-liner.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 15, 2010, 01:41:44 PM
Right.
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on September 15, 2010, 02:57:04 PM
could you do a taunt and a battle challenge with a hero in the same turn?
Title: Re: Another Taunt question
Post by: browarod on September 15, 2010, 03:13:37 PM
could you do a taunt and a battle challenge with a hero in the same turn?
I would think not. You can only have one battle each turn unless a card specifies otherwise (Long Day, Grapes, Ambush the City, etc.).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal