Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Minion of Jesus on December 09, 2013, 02:39:19 PM

Title: Another Negating Question
Post by: Minion of Jesus on December 09, 2013, 02:39:19 PM
What happens if Ethan (ability: Search discard for an enhancement involving music and add it to hand) searches for Magnificat (Negate characters, and set aside an evil character for two turns)? He negates the ability that brought back the enhancement that allows him to play it in the first place.
Title: Re: Another Negating Question
Post by: browarod on December 09, 2013, 03:23:44 PM
I feel like there was this exact question in a different thread recently. Either way, here's the answer:

Ethan can search discard for Magnificat and if you then play Magnificat Ethan is negated which returns Magnificat to your discard pile. However, Magnificat's ability remains and continues negating characters because otherwise you'd have an infinite loop. So the end result of that play would be Ethan in battle and characters being negated.

It's the same ruling as banding in a FBTN character that then negates the band.
Title: Re: Another Negating Question
Post by: Praeceps on December 09, 2013, 04:04:30 PM
We did just answer it. It was #4 here:

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/questions-about-certain-rules-and-cards/msg518635/#msg518635 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/questions-about-certain-rules-and-cards/msg518635/#msg518635)
Title: Re: Another Negating Question
Post by: browarod on December 09, 2013, 04:55:10 PM
I thought so! Maybe Musicians are actually being used if people keep having this question. :P
Title: Re: Another Negating Question
Post by: Chris on December 09, 2013, 07:51:32 PM
I may be wrong, but I don't think that Magificat would go back to the discard pile. I think once it enters play, it stays there, even though Ethan is negated.
Title: Re: Another Negating Question
Post by: Praeceps on December 09, 2013, 09:54:34 PM
I figure it would work like a Moses band. He enters battle, negates the band and thus has to go back to territory.
Title: Re: Another Negating Question
Post by: Redoubter on December 12, 2013, 09:23:15 PM
I may be wrong, but I don't think that Magificat would go back to the discard pile. I think once it enters play, it stays there, even though Ethan is negated.

While I agree that this is the way that it SHOULD be, the official ruling from the Elders has been that a card that has been played does not "stick" unless it is CBN (or played with a 'play' ability, which is inherently CBI).  If it is not CBN, then it can be returned to where it was previously if the ability that pulled it out is negated (draw, search, exchange, reveal, etc.).
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal