Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Schaefer on April 08, 2017, 07:43:55 PM
-
So say polycarp is your only hero in battle and an opponent negates one of your NT enhancements. If you choose to use polycarps instead ability while you have you will remain active, is the opponent technically removing polycarp from battle via his ability being insteaded (and thus letting you use you will remains add to battle ability), or is it you doing the removal because it's you who chose the instead and it's your card that caused the instead to occur?
-
So say polycarp is your only hero in battle and an opponent negates one of your NT enhancements. If you choose to use polycarps instead ability while you have you will remain active, is the opponent technically removing polycarp from battle via his ability being insteaded (and thus letting you use you will remains add to battle ability), or is it you doing the removal because it's you who chose the instead and it's your card that caused the instead to occur?
You control the ability to discard Polycarp, not your opponent.
-
So say polycarp is your only hero in battle and an opponent negates one of your NT enhancements. If you choose to use polycarps instead ability while you have you will remain active, is the opponent technically removing polycarp from battle via his ability being insteaded (and thus letting you use you will remains add to battle ability), or is it you doing the removal because it's you who chose the instead and it's your card that caused the instead to occur?
You control the ability to discard Polycarp, not your opponent.
Ok I just wanted to make sure the instead wasn't basically changing the text on the opponents card to where they controlled the new insteaded ability. Insteads are weird.
-
Instead is a weird modifier. It takes some getting used to. But once you do it's pretty awesome! Have you looked over the "Instead" entry in the REG? That might be really helpful for advancing your understanding of how it works.
-
Instead is a weird modifier. It takes some getting used to. But once you do it's pretty awesome! Have you looked over the "Instead" entry in the REG? That might be really helpful for advancing your understanding of how it works.
Yeah I looked at it before asking. I still wasn't clear on the control issue. I guess it came down to whether instead changed the card to be insteaded's text and replaced it with a new ability or if it substituted the instead ability instead of the original. If that makes sense.
From the REG
The instead modifier indicates a triggered ability which replaces an activated effect or event. It does not undo the
effect, as with a prevent or negate, but instead replaces the outcome such that the original ability never took place,
and the new action or ability triggers instead.
I guess this portion kinda answers where my confusion was since I was confused on whether it changed the original ability to the new one or what is outlined here. There is some room for misinterpretation but I blame my confusion on thinking of how "hack" effects work in MTG.
-
Solution: don't bother with MtG, just play Redemption. ;)