Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Eragon5 on May 02, 2015, 09:57:46 AM
-
There is a thread that is still pending on this very type of question, but mine is a bit more specific. If I make a 50 card deck, can I have 4 brown Angry Mob or would they have to be one of each type, (AP), then the three (TEC) variants?
Thanks in advance.
MOD EDIT: Changed title to indicate that the answer has been given.
-
You can have 4 each of the TEC Angry Mob cards in your deck. The Apostles version could be included, but only one copy.
-
You can have 4 each of the TEC Angry Mob cards in your deck. The Apostles version could be included, but only one copy.
Was that officially decided? I still only allow 4 total Angry Mob, regardless of brigade, unless the PTB tell me otherwise.
-
They are different brigade and different pictures and are generic which from my understanding makes them different cards. I would tend to think that you could have 4 of each card since the identifier on each of the different cards says you can have 4 of that specific card in you deck per 50. Just because the PTB happened to name three different cards in three different brigades with the same name would be a playtesting/printing decision. How could this not have already been decided before they were released OR was it decided but someone gave a compelling argument to challenge the way it was decided?
-
You can have 4 each of the TEC Angry Mob cards in your deck. The Apostles version could be included, but only one copy.
Was that officially decided? I still only allow 4 total Angry Mob, regardless of brigade, unless the PTB tell me otherwise.
If it was it wasn't communicated in the thread that I found.
-
I would tend to think that you could have 4 of each card since the identifier on each of the different cards says you can have 4 of that specific card in you deck per 50.
The card doesn't say "that specific card." The identifier says, "May include 4 Angry Mob Cards Per 50 in Deck." I don't see how having 12 Angry Mob Cards in your 50 card deck would not violate that identifier.
-
Can I have one of each of the Elders of Jerusalem cards from Apostles in my deck? If not then their ability to band to Elders of Jerusalem is useless. Can I have one of each of the Pharisees cards with different art in my deck? If not then their ability to band to Pharisees is not nearly as good. My point is that they are different cards. I absolutely see where you are coming from. I understand that the card says 4 Angry Mob cards per deck. But my question is show me another card that has an identifier intended to identify cards other than the card it is on? I guess I read it as saying you can only have 4 of this card in your deck and I read the cards separately. Obviously you are coming at it from a different perspective. Just trying to clarify why I think the way that I do so that when the PTB read the thread and rule on it, I will have explained my point of view adequately.
-
Gibeonite Delegates can band to other copies of itself but is limited to 1 per 50 in T1. The primary idea for the band is for T2 or larger T1 decks.
Also Legion has the same type of identifier as Angry Mob and it's been ruled you can only have 4 total, of any mix of the brigades, per 50 cards. Not sure if it's different for Angry Mob because of the different brigades, but that's the closest other card we have.
-
I wasn't aware of that ruling for Legion. Can you post a link to that?
-
I believe that is the correct ruling for Legion. The difference between Legion and uthminister's examples are that Legion qualifies as the same card for deck building purposes (same name and same art) while Angry Mob does not count as the same card since they each have different art, similar to Pharisees and Elders of Jerusalem.
This topic fell off our radar but has been revived so we can finish the conversation and issue a ruling prior to the annual "big" tournaments.
-
Thanks so much Gabe!
-
Everyone, we have an official ruling for you:
The identifier for Angry Mob from The Early Church allows a player to have 4 copies of that variant in a deck per 50 cards, meaning that it applies separately to each Angry Mob variant. Since each variant of the Early Church Angry Mob has a different brigade and art, each is considered a different card for deck building purposes, and so the identifier is specific to each variant. A player may have 4 of each variant of The Early Church versions of Angry Mob per 50 cards in a deck.
The Angry Mob from Apostles does not have this identifier, and is limited by normal deck-building rules.
-
Just to clarify, this means that the new brown and the old brown Angry Mobs are the same card for deck-building, since they share a title and brigade, correct? If so, could you include 1 of the old Mob and 3 of the new brown Mob, in addition to 4 each of the gray and black Mobs, or does the old brown Mob not having the identifier limit the number of brown Mobs (of either kind) you can have if you include it?
-
Just to clarify, this means that the new brown and the old brown Angry Mobs are the same card for deck-building, since they share a title and brigade, correct? If so, could you include 1 of the old Mob and 3 of the new brown Mob, in addition to 4 each of the gray and black Mobs, or does the old brown Mob not having the identifier limit the number of brown Mobs (of either kind) you can have if you include it?
Actually, the Apostles and TEC version of the Brown Angry Mob are each separate cards for deck-building:
Duplicate Rues for Deck Building
1) Character cards with the same title and the same art are considered duplicates for deck building. Therefore, Jeremiah (white) and Jeremiah (teal) are duplicate characters and only one is allowed in a T1 deck of 50-99 cards.
2) Character cards with the same title and same brigade are considered duplicate characters unless they are generic characters and have different art. Therefore, Michael (Warriors), Michael (Kings) and Michael (Angel Wars) are considered the same hero and only one is allowed in a Type 1 deck of 50-99 cards. However, Sadducees (G deck) and Sadducees (Apostles, 3 variants) all have different art and are generic characters, so one of each is allowed in a T1 deck of 50-99 cards.
You can include each (in their allowed quantities) without violating the duplicate rules because they are generic with different art (same ruling as Pharisees and Sadducees).
-
Oh, I forgot about the generic distinction, that's even better, thanks for the reminder!
-
Thanks for getting this! This is awesome! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D
I want to make an angry mob deck now! Hehehehe.