Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on June 24, 2017, 03:22:24 PM
-
I make a RA with an angel with angels sword, opponent blocks with uzzah and discards an art and himself to protect LSs from rescue. I then get to play something with angels sword, would something like striking Herod interrupt uzzah?
Angels sword: when blocked by human, play enhancement
Striking Herod: interrupt the battle and discard a human male ec
-
"Special Conditions
The phrase “interrupt the battle” includes interrupting the following:
● all active ongoing abilities
● abilities that are defeating one of the characters you control in battle
● the last card played in current battle if it was played by your opponent."
based on this and other rulings, yes
-
Wouldn't angels sword have to be the interrupt?
-
Play ability
-
Play ability
Play abilities don't interrupt... What am I missing here?
-
Play abilities are cbi
-
Play abilities are cbi
Right, but angels sword is not an interrupt. Wouldn't it have to be an interrupt for this to work?
-
Angels sword: when blocked by human, play enhancement
Striking Herod: interrupt the battle and discard a human male ec
he's playing Striking Herod off of Angel's Sword
-
Interestingly, you are both correct. ;D
Vega is correct that Angel Sword does not need to be a negate for it to be played, since it has an optional triggered ability that was triggered by Uzzah entering battle. Striking Herod could be played with Angel Sword's "Play" ability.
However, Ironisaac is correct that the card immediately played after Uzzah would have to interrupt him, but unfortunately that card was Angel Sword. Since Angel Sword was the "last card played in battle," Striking Herod does not interrupt Uzzah.
Ignore YMT.... he's old and confused...
-
Striking Herod would interrupt Uzzah's protection, though (as an ongoing ability). I'm not sure what that means, exactly - it may mean it can't reactivate because he's already in the discard pile, or it does reactivate because his location didn't change. But Striking Herod won't bring him back to play to be a target for the discard.
-
"Special Conditions
The phrase “interrupt the battle” includes interrupting the following:
● all active ongoing abilities
● abilities that are defeating one of the characters you control in battle
● the last card played in current battle if it was played by your opponent."
By interrupting the entire card you are interrupting each ability of Uzzah and bringing him back in to play to be targeted for discard by Striking Herod
-
Triggered abilities activate last. Uzzah's ability completes before you get a chance to play off Angel's Sword and he is not in play to be targeted by Striking Herod. You can still play Striking Herod and discard any valid target in play with it but Uzzah is gone by then.
Edit: Forgot interrupt hits the last played instant ability if it was played by an opponent (Uzzah in this case)
-
Uzzah was not the "last card played in battle." Angel Sword was.
Striking Herod would interrupt Uzzah's protection, though (as an ongoing ability). I'm not sure what that means, exactly - it may mean it can't reactivate because he's already in the discard pile, or it does reactivate because his location didn't change. But Striking Herod won't bring him back to play to be a target for the discard.
Ongoing abilities do not require the presence of the character. The protection would be interrupted only until a human EC was discarded.
-
Angel's sword is weapon class so it can be in battle before Uzzah
-
In a situation where an angel equipped with Angel's Sword was blocked by Uzzah, Uzzah is most assuredly the last card played. Angel's Sword has already been "played" by virtue of activating its ability and numbers in battle (even though the ability has not yet completed).
Play
A card is considered “played” if it meets these criteria:
● You play an enhancement by attempting to activate its special ability (or numbers in
battle)
● You play a character or multicolor site by putting it in your territory or your side of the
battle.
● You play any other card type by putting it face up on the playing surface from hand,
deck, or discard pile due to your special ability or game action, except when you discard
a card from hand.
Note: Play can be a special ability, but is more broadly a game action. A special ability is only
considered a play ability when it contains the word play, and is not referring to the Field of
Play. Any other action or ability that results in a card being played is not a play ability, but is
an example of a play game action. For example, "You may play an enhancement" is a play
ability, while "You may band a Hero into battle from hand" is not a play ability, since it does
not contain the word play, even though the character banded from hand is considered to
have been played by the player who used the ability.
-
I agree with Karius and Guardian.
Uzzah was the last card played (AS had already been played prior to and when Uzzah blocked); and when he's interrupted his self-discard is thus interrupted, which causes him to come back into play (and also returns the artifact to hand or art pile) and makes him targetable for the discard ability of Striking Herod.
-
Guardian, why does the first part of the"Play" definition not apply here, as you are attempting to activate an optional triggered ability?
-
The SA activated as soon as the sword entered battle, it simply set a condition that triggered later.
-
:: Sigh :: I actually read that part of the REG before posting, since I have not played in years and so much has changed. But, alas, I still got it wrong. :giveup:
-
Striking Herod would interrupt Uzzah's protection, though (as an ongoing ability).
It would interrupt Uzzah's protection, if Uzzah was still in play - otherwise it won't.
Even though negates/interrupts "target abilities" and not cards, the cards still need to be in play; the negate/interrupt needs to specifically state it can target an ability not in play (set-aside, discard, etc), or it needs a "negate/interrupt last" clause that allows it to target the card no matter where it is.
-
You're simply incorrect.
-
Striking Herod would interrupt Uzzah's protection, though (as an ongoing ability).
It would interrupt Uzzah's protection, if Uzzah was still in play - otherwise it won't.
Even though negates/interrupts "target abilities" and not cards, the cards still need to be in play; the negate/interrupt needs to specifically state it can target an ability not in play (set-aside, discard, etc), or it needs a "negate/interrupt last" clause that allows it to target the card no matter where it is.
"The phrase “interrupt the battle” includes interrupting the following:
● all active ongoing abilities
● abilities that are defeating one of the characters you control in battle
● the last card played in current battle if it was played by your opponent."
Such a clause does in fact exist in this scenario.
-
"The phrase “interrupt the battle” includes interrupting the following:
● all active ongoing abilities
● abilities that are defeating one of the characters you control in battle
● the last card played in current battle if it was played by your opponent."
Such a clause does in fact exist in this scenario.
I know that. I was responding to this part of Aggie's post:
But Striking Herod won't bring him back to play to be a target for the discard.
He was saying SH would interrupt Uzzah's protect ability, yet Uzzah would stay in discard.
I was merely pointing out that if (in some convoluted battle scenario) SH was played in a battle where Uzzah already activated, and in which Uzzah was not the last card played, SH would not interrupt Uzzah's protect ability.
-
I was merely pointing out that if (in some convoluted battle scenario) SH was played in a battle where Uzzah already activated, and in which Uzzah was not the last card played, SH would not interrupt Uzzah's protect ability.
I'm confused by this. Why would an ongoing "Protect" ability in battle not be interrupted by an "Interrupt the Battle" ability?
-
I was merely pointing out that if (in some convoluted battle scenario) SH was played in a battle where Uzzah already activated, and in which Uzzah was not the last card played, SH would not interrupt Uzzah's protect ability.
I'm confused by this. Why would an ongoing "Protect" ability in battle not be interrupted by an "Interrupt the Battle" ability?
One reason is because if AS was not a factor in this particular battle you would never have initiative to play a card like SH that would interrupt the protect ability.
-
One reason is because if AS was not a factor in this particular battle you would never have initiative to play a card like SH that would interrupt the protect ability.
I don't believe that is what jmhartz is implying. I think he is assuming that SH could be played legally, but still not interrupt the protect.
-
One reason is because if AS was not a factor in this particular battle you would never have initiative to play a card like SH that would interrupt the protect ability.
I don't believe that is what jmhartz is implying. I think he is assuming that SH could be played legally, but still not interrupt the protect.
Correct. In order for an "Interrupt the battle" ability to interrupt a Protect ability, the card with the Protect ability must be in battle. SH can target Uzzah in discard when Uzzah was the last card played in battle, because that's one of the things "Interrupt the Battle" can interrupt. But if Uzzah is not the last card played in battle and is in a discard pile, SH can't interrupt Uzzah's protection because Uzzah is not in battle.
This hearkens back to the "Can Daniel negate Gates of Hell?" conversation from a few years back. The conversation started when an elder stated that if you could band Habakkuk into battle after Uzzah had discarded himself, Habakkuk would negate Uzzah's protection. The conclusion ended up being no, Habakkuk wouldn't negate Uzzah because Uzzah was not in play.
-
So ongoing abilities linger even when the character is not in battle, but they cannot be targeted?
-
One reason is because if AS was not a factor in this particular battle you would never have initiative to play a card like SH that would interrupt the protect ability.
I don't believe that is what jmhartz is implying. I think he is assuming that SH could be played legally, but still not interrupt the protect.
Correct. In order for an "Interrupt the battle" ability to interrupt a Protect ability, the card with the Protect ability must be in battle. SH can target Uzzah in discard when Uzzah was the last card played in battle, because that's one of the things "Interrupt the Battle" can interrupt. But if Uzzah is not the last card played in battle and is in a discard pile, SH can't interrupt Uzzah's protection because Uzzah is not in battle.
This hearkens back to the "Can Daniel negate Gates of Hell?" conversation from a few years back. The conversation started when an elder stated that if you could band Habakkuk into battle after Uzzah had discarded himself, Habakkuk would negate Uzzah's protection. The conclusion ended up being no, Habakkuk wouldn't negate Uzzah because Uzzah was not in play.
for the sake of clarity i want to point out that this is not describing the result of the original thread's question and topic
-
So ongoing abilities linger even when the character is not in battle, but they cannot be targeted?
Kind of. They can still be targeted - there just aren't many cards at all that can target them.
For an Uzzah in a discard pile, you'd need a card that says "Negate an evil card in a discard pile" or something like that.