Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on August 16, 2009, 07:17:49 PM

Title: Angel of Warning?
Post by: Sean on August 16, 2009, 07:17:49 PM
Angel of Warning
"May look at opponent’s hand, or search deck for a Site or a good Fortress and put it in play."

If I search for Chamber of Angels (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/chamberofangels.htm) with Angel of Warning, does it go to the set aside area?  I'm guessing yes, but read literally it would go to play and then wouldn't work.
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 16, 2009, 07:19:18 PM
I assume it'd try to go to play, the ability would activate, and it'd place itself in set aside.
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: Smokey on August 16, 2009, 07:19:52 PM
Angel of Warning
"May look at opponent’s hand, or search deck for a Site or a good Fortress and put it in play."

If I search for Chamber of Angels (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/chamberofangels.htm) with Angel of Warning, does it go to the set aside area?  I'm guessing yes, but read literally it would go to play and then wouldn't work.

I think "Put it in play" in this case means to "Activate" it, in which case it would go to set aside from it's SA.
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: ejberkenpas22 on August 16, 2009, 07:22:11 PM
I assume it'd try to go to play, the ability would activate, and it'd place itself in set aside.
Angel of Warning
"May look at opponent’s hand, or search deck for a Site or a good Fortress and put it in play."

If I search for Chamber of Angels (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/chamberofangels.htm) with Angel of Warning, does it go to the set aside area?  I'm guessing yes, but read literally it would go to play and then wouldn't work.

I think "Put it in play" in this case means to "Activate" it, in which case it would go to set aside from it's SA.

+1 x2  ;D
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: LukeSnyder on August 16, 2009, 07:24:28 PM
Angel of Warning
"May look at opponent’s hand, or search deck for a Site or a good Fortress and put it in play."

If I search for Chamber of Angels (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/chamberofangels.htm) with Angel of Warning, does it go to the set aside area?  I'm guessing yes, but read literally it would go to play and then wouldn't work.

I think "Put it in play" in this case means to "Activate" it, in which case it would go to set aside from it's SA.

And I will agree with this assessment as well.
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: BubbleBoy on August 16, 2009, 08:54:52 PM
"Put it in play" means "put it in play," but Chamber's SA would immediately set it aside once it goes to play, as it does already, right?
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 16, 2009, 09:04:34 PM
The default is likely the same as the Prep Phase rule, which says this:

•      Place a fortress on the table as described on the fortress. At this time its special ability becomes active.

Angel of Warning would place it on the table, and the SA of Chamber would then activate to move it to set-aside.
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on August 16, 2009, 09:06:37 PM
Cool, in that case I propose that Gates of Hell and its ilk do not activate if they get targeted by Samaritan Water Jar.

(I know thats completely off topic)

If the fortress has to hit play to be active then the fortress' even though active when set-aside never had a chance to activate.
Title: Re: Angel of Warning?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on August 16, 2009, 09:10:11 PM
If the fortress has to hit play to be active then the fortress' even though active when set-aside never had a chance to activate.

Read the default again. It just has to hit the table.  ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal