Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on April 23, 2015, 10:23:40 PM

Title: ANB + Displeased Philistines
Post by: Josh on April 23, 2015, 10:23:40 PM
I am making a rescue attempt and cause a side battle.  In the side battle, I play Displeased Philistines.  After the side battle is resolved, it is still my initiative, and I play A New Beginning.  On my new turn, I attack with Hur.  After shuffling all but 1 card, does my opponent get to draw 7 cards? 

Displeased Philistines - Opponent(s) may not draw any cards or search draw pile next turn.  Errata/Play As: All opponents are prevented from drawing or searching draw pile next turn.

A New Beginning - Errata: If making a rescue attempt, remove this card from the game to shuffle all cards in play, set aside areas, and hands. If no Heroes remain in battle, end the battle, all players draw 8, and you begin a new turn.

* Side note:  Shouldn't Displeased Philistines be a Restrict ability?
Title: Re: ANB + Displeased Philistines
Post by: Praeceps on April 23, 2015, 10:32:34 PM
Ugh, I believe that in cases such as this, "next turn" is defined as "opponent's next turn".
Title: Re: ANB + Displeased Philistines
Post by: Gabe on April 23, 2015, 10:33:33 PM
* Side note:  Shouldn't Displeased Philistines be a Restrict ability?

The Redemption Wiki is a great resource. It's probably 99.9% accurate, but it is not official.

In this instance the entry for both Displease Philistines and Besieging the City are inaccurate. Both cards share the same wording and have been ruled to be a restrict ability.
Title: Re: ANB + Displeased Philistines
Post by: Josh on April 24, 2015, 11:44:28 AM
Ugh, I believe that in cases such as this, "next turn" is defined as "opponent's next turn".

That's what I thought, but technically "next turn" could mean "the next turn that is taken by any player".  However, the only reason I posted this was because I thought Besieging the City specifically mentioned "opponent's next turn"...  When I checked the Wiki, I saw it does not.  It also says simply "next turn".  So clearly the two cards act the same, and imply "opponent's next turn".
Title: Re: ANB + Displeased Philistines
Post by: Praeceps on April 24, 2015, 01:10:19 PM
Yeah, and I think it was a BtC thread where that got hammered out, could be wrong though.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal