Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: yirgogo on April 28, 2014, 09:57:42 PM
-
I am wondering on a ruling. What would happen if I had Alter of Dagon in play: All Evil Characters are protected from conversion. Prevents Holy Grail.
And is Sowing the seed a convert ability? Sowing the seed: Selected human Evil Character decreases 2/2 per turn. At */0 or less, Character becomes a Green brigade Hero with abilities (*/*) at face value. Then Sowing the Seed is placed on another human Evil Character in territory and continues. Errata/Play As: Selected human Evil Character decreases 2/2 per turn. If Evil Character reaches */0 or less, convert that character to a green brigade Hero and reset abilities (*/*) to face value. If converted, holder must place Sowing the Seed on another human evil Character in territory. Effect is ongoing.
Just wondering what would happen.
-
I'd say that the character Sowing the Seed is placed on is discarded since they hit */0, and because StS is still on the character, it's discarded as well.
-
The EC decreases to */0 while in territory. Once it reaches */0, it's automatically discarded by game rule and Sowing the Seed is discarded as well since no conversion occurred.
-
Sowing the Seed's effect is indeed a convert; anything that changes the alignment of a character is a convert ability.
Here is how I would rule this ability:
At */0 or less, the character is instead converted, because by game rule the character must be discarded at that moment normally. Therefore, this component can only be an instead ability.
Per Instead in the REG: "If a card is immune or otherwise protected from the new effect, the original effect is still applied. If a
card is immune or otherwise protected from the original effect, the card is not affected at all."
As the EC is protected from conversion, the instead does not occur; the original effect applies, so the character is discarded. Sowing the Seed remains on the character (and is thus discarded by following its host), because the "Then" on the enhancement refers to "after the EC is converted," which never occurred.
If the EC was protected from both discard and conversion, than they the EC remains in territory, unconverted, with a 0 toughness (and lessened strength, whatever that is). Sowing the Seed remains on the character, because the "Then" on the enhancement refers to "after the EC is converted," which never occurred.
-
Darn. Too bad Judas says "opponent." :P
-
Darn. Too bad Judas says "opponent." :P
Well...technically, if you CTB and pick him, your cards are "opponent's" until he enters battle again ;) That is a thread for another discussion maybe, but by a technical reading of his card it should only apply to the one player who was 'his' opponent at the time he last entered battle. Maybe you could get that to work? ;)
-
Darn. Too bad Judas says "opponent." :P
The bigger problem is he's protected from discard abilities. Here he's discarded by game rule at zero toughness.