Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Professoralstad on September 09, 2015, 02:57:36 PM

Title: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: Professoralstad on September 09, 2015, 02:57:36 PM
Now that immunity (and to a greater extent, protection) from brigades is back in vogue with the AoG, (in addition to ignoring brigades, which has been in vogue for as long as most Redemption players can remember) I think it would be valuable to add some of the following situations to the FAQ section, so that people using or facing AoG decks know how to use/stop them. However, before that happens, I also want to make sure that everyone understands them the way I do.

If Character X is ignoring/immune to/protected from Brigade Y, what cards cannot affect X (assuming the immunity is never interrupted/negated)?
1. Characters with Y (regardless of any other brigades those characters have) cannot target or otherwise X.
2. Enhancements with Y (regardless of any other brigades those Enhancements have) cannot target or otherwise affect X, regardless of the brigades of the characters that played them.
3. Enhancements played by characters with Y (regardless of any other brigades those characters or Enhancements may have) cannot target or otherwise affect X.
4. Covenants/Curses with Y (regardless of any other brigades they have) cannot target or otherwise affect X.

Examples:
1. My small Hero has Helmet of Salvation placed on him in territory (...Protected from black...). If I block with Philistine Diviners (Black/Pale Green, ...discard a Hero in his territory...) I cannot target the Hero with Helmet for the discard.

2. I attack with Lydia (White, ...may use purple Enhancements). My opponent blocks with Frog Demons (...immune to purple brigade). If I use Authority of Christ (Discard all Evil Characters) it cannot target Frog Demons.

3. I attack with Miriam (G), (Hero ignores gold brigade Evil Characters). My opponent blocks with Egyptian Magicians from hand and plays Invoking Terror (Underdeck a Hero...). The Enhancement cannot target Miriam.

4. I attack with Abiezer (Immune to crimson). Opponent blocks with a WC EC with Go Into Captivity active, I cannot use GiC to capture Abiezer.

Anyone have any questions, comments, disagreements? Will this be beneficial to have as an FAQ entry?

Title: Re: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: Gabe on September 09, 2015, 03:07:34 PM
I agree with all four points above.
Title: Re: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 09, 2015, 04:47:19 PM
That's already briefly covered as part of #18 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rulings-board-posting-rules-references-new-rules-and-faq/msg521977/#msg521977), but it would be useful to have it more clearly stated.

Can ignore be added to the first line, assuming it's treated the same way as immune/protected?

There's a handful of cards - at least 3 in G/H (including Miriam (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Miriam_%28G%29)) - that ignore/are immune to X Brigade Evil Characters, not X Brigade.  Could "without Y" be removed from (3) so those cards are fully covered by (1) & (3)?
Title: Re: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: Redoubter on September 09, 2015, 04:48:48 PM
I agree with that.  Question #18 currently deals with this a tiny bit, but it really needs expanded for the reasons mentioned.

I can take what you put there and put it in the FAQ format that was built, or any Global can add it themselves in the same format (just please update the log (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/posting-guide-references-new-rules-faq-edits-additions-and-requests/) as well!), but I've had some experience dealing with the finicky formatting there and don't mind doing it if you can wait a bit :)

EDIT: Also instaposted on the first part by Aggie ;)  Who brings up other good points.
Title: Re: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: Professoralstad on September 09, 2015, 05:01:09 PM
I agree with that.  Question #18 currently deals with this a tiny bit, but it really needs expanded for the reasons mentioned.

I can take what you put there and put it in the FAQ format that was built, or any Global can add it themselves in the same format (just please update the log (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/posting-guide-references-new-rules-faq-edits-additions-and-requests/) as well!), but I've had some experience dealing with the finicky formatting there and don't mind doing it if you can wait a bit :)


I'll let you do it when you get a chance...I just wanted to make sure I understood everything correctly.

That's already briefly covered as part of #18 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/redemption-official-rules/rulings-board-posting-rules-references-new-rules-and-faq/msg521977/#msg521977), but it would be useful to have it more clearly stated.

Can ignore be added to the first line, assuming it's treated the same way as immune/protected?

I believe it should be, so that's probably a good idea.

Quote
There's a handful of cards - at least 3 in G/H (including Miriam (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Miriam_%28G%29)) - that ignore/are immune to X Brigade Evil Characters, not X Brigade.  Could "without Y" be removed from (3) so those cards are fully covered by (1) & (3)?

I think that makes sense. I will update it in a minute; let me know if that covers what you are saying.
Title: Re: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 09, 2015, 05:19:59 PM
Yes, that's what I was looking for.
Title: Re: Adding Protection from Brigades from the FAQs
Post by: Praeceps on September 09, 2015, 06:35:49 PM
It's nice when a ruling is unquestionably based on common sense and logic. Thanks for clearing this up for anyone having trouble with it.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal