Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Guardian on July 31, 2017, 01:33:32 PM
-
It was brought to my attention that the Add to Battle entry is missing an important default condition.
You can only use an "add to battle" ability to add a character to your side of the battle and only if the character is the correct alignment for that battle.
This applies to cards such as Gates of Hell, Faith of David and Sixth Bowl of Wrath.
This has been ruled consistently since Gates of Hell was introduced in 2009, and has never changed. Before the Add to Battle entry was created, those abilities were considered banding abilities and the reasoning was that you could not band characters to your opponent's side of battle and only choose the blocker/rescuer abilities could put characters on the opponent's side. When the Add to Battle entry was created (making it distinct from band), that part of the rule did not get included as it should have been.
First ruling: http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/the-gates-of-hell-17287/ (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/the-gates-of-hell-17287/)
Confirmed in 2013: http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/gates-of-hell-32642/msg506503/#msg506503 (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/gates-of-hell-32642/msg506503/#msg506503)
Again last year: http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/faith-of-david/msg555432/#msg555432 (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/faith-of-david/msg555432/#msg555432)
A couple months ago: http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/sixth-bowl-of-wrath/msg567076/#msg567076 (http://www.cactusforums.com/ruling-questions/sixth-bowl-of-wrath/msg567076/#msg567076)
This will be added to the REG 5.0 update, but consider this ruling official for Nationals. 8)
-
So in multi I cannot gates or unknown nation a character in if two other players are in battle?
-
So in multi I cannot gates or unknown nation a character in if two other players are in battle?
Correct.
-
Correct--that has also been ruled consistently.
A card like The Darkness works because it says the "blocking player may add the EC to battle."