Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jtay on May 20, 2010, 06:52:10 PM

Title: Activating twice
Post by: jtay on May 20, 2010, 06:52:10 PM
Consider this scenario:

-Book of the Law is active.
-On a previous rescue attempt/battle challenge, Agur was used to place Plague of flies on a gold hero.
-Said hero enters battle, and Plague of Flies activates and is immediately discarded.
-A banding ability occurs (via printed ability, gathering, etc.) to band Agur into battle.
-Agur places Plague of Files from the discard pile onto another gold hero.
-Another banding ability occurs and bands that hero into battle.
-Plauge of Flies activates and is discarded again.

Is this allowed?  Can Plague of Files (or any other enhancement of choice) be used twice like this in the same battle?

Agur -
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 8 / 9 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may place an O.T. Enhancement from hand (or discard pile if Book of the Law is active) on a human Hero of matching brigade in your territory. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and is discarded immediately.

Plague of Flies -
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: All Evil Characters in play decrease 6/6 for remainder of turn. If result is 0/0 or less discard character(s).
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Ehud Cubed on May 20, 2010, 07:00:41 PM
I see no reason why it wouldn't work, looks like a nice combo to annoy your opponent
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on May 20, 2010, 08:16:06 PM
If I was your opp I might hurt you for that, just cuz I didn't think of it.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 20, 2010, 11:49:30 PM
You don't need Agur at all for this in T2. ::)
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 21, 2010, 12:39:36 AM
While I think it's legal, its not terribly practical.

(A) it kills your own defense, and you cant protect from it, (B) you will never get initative in that battle, as you're facing a bunch of -12/-12 dudes.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 21, 2010, 12:45:21 AM
you cant protect from it
Except with all the forts that say "protect from discard"? :scratch:
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 21, 2010, 12:46:39 AM
Which is most of them.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: lightningninja on May 21, 2010, 12:47:04 AM
Wasn't it ruled that isn't a game ability and so therefore you can't protect?

I can never remember these things...  ::)
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 21, 2010, 12:48:45 AM
you cant protect from it
Except with all the forts that say "protect from discard"? :scratch:

I thought decreasing below */0 bypassed "protect from discard", since they die by game rule and not a discard ability.

*instaposted*
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 21, 2010, 12:49:29 AM
I'm pretty sure Bryon ruled that protect abilities could protect from numbers and game rules and stuff. Don't ask me to find the link though...
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on May 21, 2010, 12:52:19 AM
Discard is Discard by anything. Game rule or not. It was decided that way because of the fact special abilities are MADE to overrule game rules.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Ehud Cubed on May 21, 2010, 12:53:15 AM
What i found in the rulebook:

Quote
NOTE: When a special ability reduces a character to */0 or less, the character is immediately discarded, EXCEPT during the Battle Phase. During battle resolution, all characters in play or set-aside areas with toughness of */0 or less at that time are discarded.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 21, 2010, 10:31:22 AM
Right, the character is immediately Discarded...unless he's Protected from Discard.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Captain Kirk on May 21, 2010, 12:00:56 PM
Where is that thread?  So High Priest's Palace no longer protects Sadducees from discard when Crown of Thorns is active?

Kirk
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: BubbleBoy on May 21, 2010, 12:12:01 PM
Where is that thread?  So High Priest's Palace no longer protects Sadducees from discard when Crown of Thorns is active?
Actually, I'm pretty sure Bryon ruled that it does. The question was brought up based on the ruling that Protection of Angels did not protect from numbers, a ruling which was changed by Bryon in the same thread.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 21, 2010, 12:14:21 PM
I may have gotten a few things mixed up... but I know that ruling has been debated in the past.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Professoralstad on May 21, 2010, 12:21:21 PM
Here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=20624.msg322993;topicseen#msg322993) is the contentional thread. In it Bryon states that the status quo is maintained. And then BubbleBoy's aunt is compared with Sebastian from the Little Mermaid.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 21, 2010, 12:23:19 PM
"Protect from discard" includes protection from discard by any means (discard special abilities, game rule after decrease special abilities, etc.).

"Protect from discard abilities" protects ONLY from discard by a discard special ability.

There it is, got this mixed up.

False alarm folks.  :D Thats what happens when I try to think about rulings when its almost 1 in the morning.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on May 21, 2010, 12:49:31 PM
I'm pretty sure Bryon ruled that protect abilities could protect from numbers and game rules and stuff. Don't ask me to find the link though...

I think i remember that post where is was Korunks who posted about having sadduces decresed. I don't remember which way it went though
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: Professoralstad on May 21, 2010, 12:51:25 PM
I'm pretty sure Bryon ruled that protect abilities could protect from numbers and game rules and stuff. Don't ask me to find the link though...

I think i remember that post where is was Korunks who posted about having sadduces decresed. I don't remember which way it went though

Try the link in here:

Here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=20624.msg322993;topicseen#msg322993) is the contentional thread. In it Bryon states that the status quo is maintained. And then BubbleBoy's aunt is compared with Sebastian from the Little Mermaid.
Title: Re: Activating twice
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 21, 2010, 01:50:09 PM
I tried that link and it brought me to the word "Welcome" on the home page. I guess that's what was "under the C."
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal