Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SomeKittens on February 14, 2011, 09:35:29 PM
-
I win a rescue attempt BTN. One of Opponent's blocking demons is Wandering Spirit.
Normally, he'd stick them beneath deck, and Gates them right back out. Problem is, the only soul left to rescue is the shuffler (feasibly. He wasn't about to give me the other half of the 2-liner)
Which happens?
A.) Demons are placed beneath deck, which is then shuffled, because opponent can't insert a special ability between the end of battle and soul rescue.
B.) Demons can get Gatesed back out, for some odd reason.
-
Situation A is correct.
-
Thanks, that's how I ruled it, but I wasn't sure.
-
I don't understand why this is the case. It is not as though he must immediately give you the lost soul, since there is time allowed for him to consider which soul to give. Since there is some time for him to consider, I would argue that using Gates of Hell is allowable. this is because Gates of Hell can be activated "at anytime." Furthermore, if it is possible to play a dominant during this time, why is it not possible to use Gates of Hell?
This objection does not come from my expertise in the game obviously, but is merely a logical question.
-
If you win a battle by special ability, then your opponent is allowed to use special abilities (such as Burial) before you rescue. However, when you win BTN, he isn't. Naturally, you can play dominants before declaring that you've lost.
-
If you win a battle by special ability, then your opponent is allowed to use special abilities (such as Burial) before you rescue. However, when you win BTN, he isn't. Naturally, you can play dominants before declaring that you've lost.
Not sure if this is correct, likewise as goodfellow stated- there is still time to use other abilities like CM and UnknownNation as well as SiteGuard LS and I would include Gates of Hell.
-
Your characters don't get Discarded by the numbers until you've agreed to use no more abilities. So by the time WS and his buds would get to the bottom of your deck, it's too late to use GoH before the LS is surrendered.
-
When a battle ends because of a special ability, other special abilities can be played (ex: rescuer plays AoCp, defender buries their only soul, rescuer plays Harvest Time, defender uses Unknown Nation, etc.).
When a battle ends because the evil character is defeated by the numbers, you enter "battle resolution". At that point no additional abilities can be played, you simply perform all the appropriate actions like discard enhancements, defeated characters, award Lost Souls and complete any triggered abilities (ex: Chariot of Fire, Hormah, etc.).
-
There you go. I stand corrected. Thank you for setting me straight guys.
-
There is no set order for abilities to resolve in the battle resolution phase (that I know of), so wouldn't the blocker get to choose which order they happen? For example, he could choose to relinquish the shuffler Lost Soul and shuffle all decks and then choose to resolve the trigger on WS that puts the demons under deck. Wouldn't this work?
-
The EC's have to be removed from battle before I can rescue a lost soul.
-
The EC's have to be removed from battle before I can rescue a lost soul.
I don't disagree, and that doesn't change what I asked. As the ECs leave battle, two triggers are made: one on WS to put them under instead, and one by game rule to relinquish a Lost Soul. Why can't I choose which to use first? If my opponent gets to use HT with their prophet before I have a chance to capture with UW (due to that ruling about optional triggers or w/e) shouldn't I actually be forced to resolve the LS relinquishing (non-optional) before the instead trigger (optional)?
-
While there is no set order for most of the operations in the battle resolution, surrendering the LS is dead last.
-
While there is no set order for most of the operations in the battle resolution, surrendering the LS is dead last.
How do you know if there's no set order?
-
Because if Evil Characters are still in battle your Hero is still being blocked.
-
I think he is saying that the evil characters are not still in battle. In other words, he acknowledges the end of battle, discards the demons because they lost by the numbers, hands over the lost soul because his evil characters lost, and then places the demons under deck.
I think the answer is that the instead ability works immediately to replace the discard when the discard happens and is not triggered later. I wonder if the answer would be different if it was not an instead ability but was triggered to happen like A-bomb. Would the trigger still automatically take place before surrendering the lost soul? Maybe Cain's ability is a good example:
Cain (Pa)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 4 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: If Cain is defeated in battle, discard any Hero in a territory.