Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: YourMathTeacher on March 04, 2010, 09:47:33 PM

Title: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 04, 2010, 09:47:33 PM
I have never had to rule on Abom before and I'm sure there is a quick answer to this:

If I place Abom in my opponent's territory, then later attack with Hur, do I discard just one card from territory, or one for each card drawn? I assumed that the the words "Draws cards" would be a singular event, so I only get to discard one.

Abomination of Desolation
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a Greek, place in opponent's territory. Each time opponent draws cards (except during draw phase), you may discard a card in that territory except a Lost Soul.

Hur
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Selected opponent must shuffle all but one card from hand back into draw pile and draw seven new cards. Cannot be interrupted, negated, or prevented.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Mr.Hiatus on March 04, 2010, 09:52:17 PM
One card.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 04, 2010, 09:53:17 PM
Thanks. That's what I thought, but I have questioned everything I believe about Redemption these past couple of weeks.  ;)
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: disciple_drew on March 04, 2010, 09:55:06 PM
One card.

Thank you for clearing that up. Thanks again Tim for finding out.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on March 05, 2010, 11:48:43 AM
Yes, it is one card per ability.  Out of curiosity, what about Heavy Taxes when used by an emperor?  Draw & Discard seems to be one ability and the card says to do "this" twice.


Heavy Taxes
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Grey • Ability: 0 / X • Class: None • Special Ability: Opponent must discard a card from hand and you may draw a card. If used by an emperor, do this twice and end the battle. • Identifiers: NT, Depicts a Weapon, X = number of cards in your hand • Verse: Romans 13:7 • Availability: Faith of Fathers (Set 10)
See also:
Draw or Take into Hand
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 05, 2010, 12:32:44 PM
Well, assuming your opp uses that with abom on the table I would say twice. Since the ability specifies twice but I could be wrong.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Professoralstad on March 05, 2010, 12:45:57 PM
Well, assuming your opp uses that with abom on the table I would say twice. Since the ability specifies twice but I could be wrong.

+1. Each time you draw is a separate ability: you draw, then you check to see if an emperor used it. Then you draw again. That's how I would rule it.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 05, 2010, 04:31:57 PM
Wouldn't the second sentence have to say "again," rather than "twice." I think that the first and second sentences would have to be a single event, otherwise I should be able to do it twice more if I use it on an Emperor.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Professoralstad on March 05, 2010, 04:54:24 PM
I think in order to work as you would suppose, it would have to say: "Opponent must discard a card from hand and you may draw a card. If used by an Emperor, draw 2 and opponent must discard 2 cards from hand instead."

The fact that it says twice makes me think that it means do it once, then do it again. I can definitely see how your have no idea how you could come up with your interpretation. There is literally no way it could might be correct. You're so ignorant.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 05, 2010, 04:59:16 PM
But I can definitely see how your interpretation might be correct.

Well that can't be right.   ;)
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Professoralstad on March 05, 2010, 05:02:53 PM
Fixed.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 05, 2010, 05:04:15 PM
That's better, although it would have had more oomph if you had called me a fool.
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: frisian9 on March 06, 2010, 11:31:04 AM
Well, assuming your opp uses that with abom on the table I would say twice. Since the ability specifies twice but I could be wrong.

+1. Each time you draw is a separate ability: you draw, then you check to see if an emperor used it. Then you draw again. That's how I would rule it.

I agree with your explanation. Doing "this" (draw) twice means you draw twice, not draw 2.

Draw 2 cards <> Draw twice

Hur draws 7 and does not draws 7 times.  Heavy Taxes (in the presence of an Emperor) draws two times, not draws 2. Right?

Mike
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 06, 2010, 11:33:08 AM
Draw 2 cards <> Draw a card twice

I'm not clear on the designation you are using, especially since you used red color. Are you saying that "Draw 2 Cards" is kissing "Draw a card twice"?
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: frisian9 on March 06, 2010, 11:42:19 AM
Sorry, I'm an engineer/programmer. <> means not equal. There is no character on the keyboard that has = and /  on top of each other. <> is how it is used in most programming languages.

So, what is your background, such that <> means kissing? That is not part of my repertoire :D

Mike
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on March 06, 2010, 11:47:55 AM
=/= is what some use for not equal. 
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: frisian9 on March 06, 2010, 11:52:06 AM
Does =/= have any other cute associations?

Mike
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Bryon on March 06, 2010, 11:58:06 AM
Why are you squinting at me?
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: frisian9 on March 06, 2010, 12:43:38 PM
Can we turn that into one of those cute smileys?

Mike
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 06, 2010, 01:29:14 PM
We already have a kissing smiley. Some board members use it way too often.  ;)
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 06, 2010, 06:44:24 PM
We already have a kissing smiley. Some board members use it way too often.  ;)

Maybe they just love you that much!   ;D
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 06, 2010, 07:21:07 PM
Maybe they just love you that much!   ;D

As long as it is clear that I am a happily married man, I'm OK with that. However, as a High School math teacher with an attitude problem, having people love me too much is not generally a problem.  ;)
Title: Re: Abomination of Desolation
Post by: BubbleBoy on March 06, 2010, 09:03:14 PM
However, as a High School math teacher with an attitude problem ...
Is this referring to a problem with your own attitude, or the attitudes of your students? ;)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal