Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on October 01, 2011, 12:46:09 PM

Title: Abom
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 01, 2011, 12:46:09 PM
When exactly does Abom trigger?  Is it right when the drawing happens of after all abilities complete, you get to discard X cards? (X being the number of times drawn).  I believe it really matters, it could stop some of the banding chains before they get started, or I'll just wipe out their defense if that doesn't work.

Abomination of Desolation (RA)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Black • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: If used by a Greek, place in opponent's territory. Each time opponent draws cards (except during draw phase), you may discard a card in that territory except a Lost Soul. • Identifiers: OT, False Religious Practice, Limit of one in territory • Verse: Daniel 11:31 • Availability: Rock of Ages booster packs (None)

Ishmaiah the Gibeonite (RA2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Red • Ability: 9 / 4 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Draw X (limit 3). Negate special abilities on Evil Characters with toughness X or less. May band to a red O.T. Hero. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Canaan, Fought Earthly Battle, X = the number of O.T. Heroes in Battle • Verse: I Chronicles 12:4 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)

Isaiah (FF2)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 7 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect purple Kings from opponents. Search discard pile for a good Isaiah card and place it on deck to draw X. Good Isaiah cards cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Prophet, X = the number of your Isaiah Angels • Verse: Isaiah 6:8 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers Extended booster packs (None)

Since these two don't have may, they have to draw (maybe not in Isaiah's case), so does Abom trigger before the band or at the end of all abilities completing?
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 01, 2011, 12:53:29 PM
Abilities never insert themselves in between other abilities completing unless they're "instead" abilities. So if you have Abom up and they attack with Ish, they draw, band, then the next Hero's SA carries out until there are no more pending abilities, then Abom activates. It will activate multiple times for multiple draws in a chain, however (Samuel to Armorbearer to Ish to Asahel to Hiram will net you 3 Discards, for example).
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: lp670sv on October 01, 2011, 12:55:58 PM
I agree with Pol. It's not interrupting the Banding ability, therefore the banding completes before you can discard.
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: Professoralstad on October 01, 2011, 01:25:38 PM
The above are correct.
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: Crashfach2002 on October 01, 2011, 07:06:33 PM
I thought that was right, but just wanted to check!
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: browarod on October 02, 2011, 08:52:50 PM
In the example Pol described, would you discard 3 cards at the same time, or 1 card three times consecutively? I ask because if you use Abom to discard an evil Assyrian while Protection of Jerusalem is in play, would PoJ's discard then happen after that discard from Abom and before the other two Abom discards, or would PoJ have to wait until after Abom discards all its cards?
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 02, 2011, 10:11:05 PM
3 discards back-to-back-to-back, along with any abilities a given discard may trigger (Abom kills an Assyrian, Prot of J kills another evil card, Abom kills something else, etc.).
Title: Re: Abom
Post by: Professoralstad on October 02, 2011, 11:24:56 PM
3 discards back-to-back-to-back, along with any abilities a given discard may trigger (Abom kills an Assyrian, Prot of J kills another evil card, Abom kills something else, etc.).

Pol is correct.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal