Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on December 19, 2009, 07:26:51 PM
-
1. Is the SA on Jaddua, son of... a linked ability like DoN? Meaning Do I have to Zerubabbels temple out to protect artifacts from destruction??
Jaddua, son of Jonathan
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: 7 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: If Zerubbabel’s Temple is in play, negate all special abilities on Curses. Protect all Artifacts in play, hands, and artifact piles from discard abilities. • Attributes: Zerubbabel's Temple High Priest, House of Eleazar • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Zerubbabel's Temple High Priest (House of Eleazar) • Verse: Nehemiah 12:11 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()
2. Can I discard my "empty" hand to fulfil the requirement for Primary Objective, when I am blocking against it?
Primary Objective
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 3 / 0 • Class: None • Special Ability: If making a rescue attempt, discard hand (minimum 7 cards) and select a lost soul in opponent's Land of Bondage. Opponent must discard hand or holder rescues that lost soul. Battle continues as a battle challenge. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Revelation 14:6 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Ultra Rare)
-
as for the first question I don't believe you would need z-temple out to protect the artifacts it seems like it's two seperate abilities to me.
secondly I don't think you could discard a hand of zero because there is nothing to discard but again this is just my thought.
-
1. no
2. yes
-
1. They are two different sentences, so the condition on the first does not apply to the second.
2. According to the rulings on Sinning Hand, Assyria's Tribute and the like, yes, you can discard a hand of zero.
-
Heh, actually BubbleBoy Sinning Hand etc are ruled on the precedent of Primary Objective, not the other way around. I should know as I was the one who got PO ruled that way ;)
-
I wasn't saying which came first necessarily. :P
-
I should know as I was the one who got PO ruled that way ;)
So YOU'RE the one! *grumbles*
;)
-
Hey,
Rule of thumb, If you don't like a ruling on a specific card, chances are it was my fault, Pol's Fault or RR's Fault.
-
Hey,
Rule of thumb, If you don't like a ruling on a specific card, chances are it was my fault, Pol's Fault or RR's Fault.
True statement.
-
so if you can discard a hand of zero cards to fufill a requirment, what about jeptha and discarding the top card of deck if you dont have any deck left?
-
You can discard a hand of 0 cards (because you technically still have a hand), but you cannot discard the top card of deck if there is no deck. So, no, you cannot use Jeptha (sp) without a deck.
-
Cameron's logic I think is off, but his statement is true. The reason you can't use Jepthah (I think) is because you have to discard IN ORDER TO do something else. So you can't do it. It's a cost/benefit. However, if something just says "discard hand" as an afterthought, and isn't tied to another ability, you can do it without any cards.
I think. ::)
-
Cameron's logic I think is off, but his statement is true.
Cameron's logic is exactly correct. The only reason Jephthah doesn't work is because of the word "top."
-
Awesome, good job Cameron. ;)
-
Awesome, good job Cameron. ;)
Thanks ;)
Your logic is also correct, it just explains something slightly different. Yours explains why in an "X to Y" ability, X must happen for Y to happen. My logic simply explains why you can/can't do X. :)
-
i have helped to create some insane rulings myself....dou+panic demon was me as well as owner and controller on rulings
-
Wait.... what was the dou+panic demon ruling?
-
DoU + Pale Green PD ruling was that if you use DoU on the PD to stop a rescue... PD's ability still works, and he is instead placed on an opponents hero after stopping the block.
-
Back to the Jephthah thing, I think the real difference between him and, say, Sinning Hand, is that Jephthah scecifies a number. If you don't have that number left, you can't do it. Sinning Hand just specifies a percentage. You can have a percentage of 0, but it will be 0.
-
i have helped to create some insane rulings myself....
I have too..... it is now ruled that grumpy, old men should not post on these boards.
-
Hey now,
It's Christmas, even the Head Grinch Scheaf says so, just look at the theme :)
-
Hey now,
It's Christmas, even the Head Grinch Scheaf says so, just look at the theme :)
Still the same Metallistic I told it to use, lol.