Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: BubbleBoy on November 16, 2010, 05:15:46 PM

Title: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: BubbleBoy on November 16, 2010, 05:15:46 PM
What exactly are the rules for limited use abilities? I know that if an ability says "May be used once per game," then if you have multiple copies of it, you still only get to use the ability once. However, if I recall, cards like Captured Ark that just say "May be used X times," let you use the ability X times per copy of that card you have. In my mind, I wanted to say that that only applied to Artifacts, but does it apply to characters also? For example, Pontius Pilate...

And is there anything more (or less) that I should know about limited use? I'm not sure where to find this section in the REG.
Title: Re: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: The Guardian on November 16, 2010, 05:45:19 PM
"May be used once" = May be used once per copy of the card.

"May be used X per game" = May be used X per game regardless of the number of copies.

Some "per game" cards:
Pontius Pilate
Holy Grail
Jephthah
High Priest Annas
Ark of the Covenant
I am Justice

Some per copy cards:
Captured Ark
Burial Shroud
Covenant with Moses
I am Healing

Those aren't exhaustive lists, just the ones I could think of at the moment.
Title: Re: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on November 16, 2010, 07:37:01 PM
Are "may be used once" abilities reset when the card enters your hand or deck? I can't remember the ruling on that.
Title: Re: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: BubbleBoy on November 16, 2010, 07:57:18 PM
Are "may be used once" abilities reset when the card enters your hand or deck? I can't remember the ruling on that.
I don't see how the answer to that could be no...
Title: Re: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: YourMathTeacher on November 16, 2010, 08:03:59 PM
No.

BubbleBoy didn't see that coming......  :o
Title: Re: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: Minister Polarius on November 16, 2010, 09:00:47 PM
OH SNAP!

But yes, if you have one use of BS up when it gets shuffled, it comes back crisp and ready to stall the game for another two full rounds.
Title: Re: A Refresher on Limited Use Abilities
Post by: RTSmaniac on November 18, 2010, 09:33:51 PM
One of my fave plays, also FBTN deck with ANB and shuffling my Joseph Silver Cup for artifact hate.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal