Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Rawrlolsauce! on December 01, 2011, 01:53:10 PM
-
I RA with ET.
Can I play Goat with Horn (enhancement) on Goat with Horn (character in territory)? After reviewing the REG, I'm almost positive the answer is yes, but I just want to make sure. I understand that Goat with Horn (enhancement)'s SA will not activate. And not *just* because it doesn't have one.)
-
If the enhancement you played was T/C, I don't see why the ability wouldn't activate.
Would the enhancement just be discarded if it was played?
Also, this could theoretically help against speed bump. If you can't get down to 10, and you don't want to play Reach/AoCP preblock, you could basically just discard a card without moving to the discard phase.
-
My gut reaction is no, but I can't find anything that confirms this in the REG.
-
I don't see why you could, unless you could do the same thing for Reach, Words, Jordan Interrupted, and any other "play next" ability.
-
This might be related...
If I'm making a rescue attempt, and an opponent nukes one of my evil characters, am I allowed to play a card such as Torment during my RA to heal it?
-
This might be related...
If I'm making a rescue attempt, and an opponent nukes one of my evil characters, am I allowed to play a card such as Torment during my RA to heal it?
Not unless you have initiative to play it. Rule of healing cards during Battle Phase.
And since it's evil, you won't get that chance...I don't think. You have to wait until Discard Phase.
-
@Westy: Yeah, it could also help against whatever that brown draw EE is.
@Lambo: Yeah, what Westy said. Only there are scenarios wherein you'll be able to play it during battle.
@The naysayers (Lambo, Browarod): The reason I say yes is because "play an enhancement" does not mean "play an enhancement on a character in battle." According to the REG, it lets you play an enhancement from hand on a character that has the ability to play it (matching brigade) regardless of initiative. Take Altar of Burnt Offering, for example. That lets you play an enhancement on a character in territory. The differences are it specifies during prep phase (which does not matter) and it activates (due to specifically saying so.) High Places would be another example.
-
I think the reason it would be no is because you can't play territory class enhancements outside of battle during battle. So I would say a play ability during the prep or discard phase would allow you to, but in battle to only play an enhancement on a character you control in battle.
-
The answer is no. The answer is in the REG. I took the time to look it up. You can, too. (Hint: it's in the Redemption Rulebook section.)
I'd post all the answers here but lately I have been getting a little frustrated doing things for my lazy kids at home. Sorry, but my frustration is carrying over onto the boards. Please, this does not reflect upon my feelings towards the boards or members of the boards. I still think you're all A-number-1. :thumbup:
-
The answer is no. The answer is in the REG. I took the time to look it up. You can, too. (Hint: it's in the Redemption Rulebook section.)
I'd post all the answers here but lately I have been getting a little frustrated doing things for my lazy kids at home. Sorry, but my frustration is carrying over onto the boards. Please, this does not reflect upon my feelings towards the boards or members of the boards. I still think you're all A-number-1. :thumbup:
Are you talking about:
There are three types of enhancements that you can play on a character not necessarily in the Field of Battle. These are healing enhancements, set-aside enhancements, and weapon-class enhancements.
Special abilities override that. Otherwise High Places and Altar of Burnt Offering wouldn't work.
If not, I don't see anything else about this.
-
It's in the "Determine Initiative" section.
-
EDIT: never mind. You're right.
You can only play (activate) enhancements on characters that are in the Field of Battle
-
Thanks for ruining all my fun Stamp. Now I'm even more disappointed I didn't get ANB errata'd after coming so close.
-
Thanks for ruining all my fun Stamp.
At least I'm consistent. My lazy kids say the same thing.
;D
-
I think letting your kids call you "Stamp" is the root of the problem.
-
You're probably right. Of course, I guess it doesn't help that I call them Thing 1 and Thing 2.
;D