Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: uthminister [BR] on December 10, 2015, 10:49:46 AM

Title: A question if you can bear with me...
Post by: uthminister [BR] on December 10, 2015, 10:49:46 AM
Alright, I have a deck in the works (super secret so don't ask) where I am wanting to include "Bear" and "The Bear." I have looked over the following rules have come to the following conclusions, what do you think?

•Same Title + Same Art = Same Card. > This is the fuzzy one for me. Technically they have different names but do they really?
•Same Title + Same Brigade = Same Card (except generic characters with different art). > Completely different brigades for sure.
•Different Art + Different Brigade = Different Card. > This really doesn't help since it is the same art.

Title: Re: A question if you can bear with me...
Post by: YourMathTeacher on December 10, 2015, 11:27:01 AM
I would rule them as having the same title. The word "The" can only be used to distinguish a generic character from a unique character, not a unique character from a unique character. These cards represent the same unique character. It's like  having "Spider-Man" and "The Spider-Man." They are not different.
Title: Re: A question if you can bear with me...
Post by: uthminister [BR] on December 10, 2015, 12:33:24 PM
After I posted the question, I found their respective entries and both were considered Unique Characters. Oh well, only one of them is not a bad thing since I needed to cut 2 cards anyway.
Title: Re: A question if you can bear with me...
Post by: Prof Underwood on December 10, 2015, 07:42:23 PM
I agree with YMT for an official ruling.  However I'd be tempted to let you include both just to see how you could make a successful deck that really used both of those cards :)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal