Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on April 27, 2017, 08:14:27 AM
-
When a card assigns a number to how many characters are affected by something in battle, such as capture 2 heroes in battle or withdraw/paralyze 2 heroes in battle (based upon there being two evil brigades in battle, such as Fearfulness), and there's only one hero in battle, does the ability still work to capture or withdraw/paralyze that one hero, or must there be that exact amount for it to work since it doesn't say "up to X heroes in battle"?
-
it still works, you do as much as you can.
-
Ok thanks.
-
One thing to keep in mind is that the "do as much as you can" does not apply to "costs" of cost/benefit abilities.
For example, if you try to use Herod's Temple to instead the discarding of your N.T. human and X is 4, but you only have 3 cards left in your deck, that will not work.
I know that wasn't the original question, but more just wanted to point out that "do as much as you can" does not apply in all scenarios.
-
Good point. Thanks for citing that kind of example.
I wanted to make sure there wasn't the specific requirement vs "up to X amount" which is seen on some cards and not others. Glad to know it's not restrictive to there having to be at least two in battle in order to use one of those kinds of enhs.