Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Arrthoa on April 22, 2013, 12:37:16 PM

Title: A Few Questions
Post by: Arrthoa on April 22, 2013, 12:37:16 PM
1: Am I allowed to use PoJ's ability when I have to discard a Assyrian from battle due to a SA or being defeated?

2: I think this may have been solved, but do captured Heroes keep there identifiers? ex. My Eli is captured and I have Samuel in battle. Opponent play a evil enhancement, I play Eli's sound advice. Can I use it's first ability since there is a Tabernacle priest in the Field of Play, but captured?

3: Does my King Joram maintain the added 6/6 from Gates of Samaria when I set him aside with Jeroboam's Idolatry to prevent him from being discarded or would he lose it?
Title: Re: A Few Questions
Post by: Mageduckey on April 22, 2013, 12:43:55 PM
1) Yes.  You can also use it when you discard it from your territory.  You cannot use it when discarding from hand or set aside area, though.

2) Captured characters retain their identifiers, but can only be targeted as captured characters (according to the REG).  So I don't think it counts as having a Tabernacle priest in play, but I'm not 100% certain.

3) Yes, the gain from GoS sticks until the character is sent to hand, deck, or discard pile, where the card resets to its initial state.
Title: Re: A Few Questions
Post by: Captain Kirk on April 22, 2013, 01:12:33 PM
Regarding #2, that does count as having a Tabernacle priest in play since captured characters retain identifiers.

Kirk
Title: Re: A Few Questions
Post by: Redoubter on April 22, 2013, 01:16:03 PM
1) Yes.  You can also use it when you discard it from your territory.  You cannot use it when discarding from hand or set aside area, though.

This is not 100% accurate.  The question also asked about being discarded due to a SA or being defeated in battle, but that only counts if YOU are the one doing the discarding.  If YOUR SA causes the discard of an Assyrian, or YOUR numbers discard an Assyrian, then you can use PoJ.  If your own Assyrian is defeated by the numbers or an opponent's SA, you may not use PoJ.

2) Captured characters retain their identifiers, but can only be targeted as captured characters (according to the REG).  So I don't think it counts as having a Tabernacle priest in play, but I'm not 100% certain.

Captured Characters retain their identifiers, names, and titles for the purposes of cards that "look" for them, but cannot target them because of them.

For example, a card like Bravery of David that says "if David is in play" can 'look' for David, and that part of the SA is satisfied even if he is captured.  However, a card like Absalom's Soldiers that says "Place David beneath owner's draw pile" cannot 'target' a David that is captured.

This comes up a lot, see these threads: 1 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/captured-characters-retain-some-identifiers/msg487121/#msg487121) 2 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/arioch/) 3 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/do-captured-characters-retain-identifiers/)
Title: Re: A Few Questions
Post by: Arrthoa on April 22, 2013, 01:18:30 PM
Thanks for answering the questions.

Redoubter answered what I was wanting to know.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal