Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on March 17, 2010, 09:24:54 PM

Title: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 17, 2010, 09:24:54 PM
1. If My opponent Deactivates Lampstand( in a temple) during his turn and DoN's my Unholy Writ, I can DoN his other artifact before he "reactivates" lampstand?

2.  Does Glory of the Lord keep philistine priest's from deactivating Lampstand(in Solomon's Temple)?  Or this like DoN and is a linked ability?

Philistine Priests

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 5 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may search draw pile for Temple of Dagon and put it in play. If another Philistine Evil Character is in play, you may negate and deactivate one O.T. Artifact in play. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Human, Philistia, Priest • Verse: I Samuel 6:2 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Common)


Glory of the Lord

Type: Lamb • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place in territory. Holder's Solomon's Temple and the artifact in it cannot be discarded or negated by an opponent. Discard this card if Asherah Pole is in holder's Solomon's Temple. • Play As: Place in territory. Holder’s Solomon’s Temple and the artifact in it are protected from being discarded or negated by an opponent. Discard this card if Asherah Pole is in holder’s Solomon’s Temple. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Chronicles 7:1 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Ultra Rare)


Destruction of Nehushtan

Type: Grim Reaper • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Discard one active Artifact in play. Artifact's ability is negated. • Play As: Discard one active Artifact in play. Negate the discarded artifact's ability. • Identifiers: False Religious Practice • Verse: II Kings 18:4 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Ultra Rare)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: The Warrior on March 17, 2010, 09:32:00 PM
2.  Does Glory of the Lord keep philistine priest's from deactivating Lampstand(in Solomon's Temple)?  Or this like DoN and is a linked ability?

Philistine Priests

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Black • Ability: 5 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: You may search draw pile for Temple of Dagon and put it in play. If another Philistine Evil Character is in play, you may negate and deactivate one O.T. Artifact in play. • Identifiers: Generic OT Male Human, Philistia, Priest • Verse: I Samuel 6:2 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Common)


Glory of the Lord

Type: Lamb • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place in territory. Holder's Solomon's Temple and the artifact in it cannot be discarded or negated by an opponent. Discard this card if Asherah Pole is in holder's Solomon's Temple. • Play As: Place in territory. Holder’s Solomon’s Temple and the artifact in it are protected from being discarded or negated by an opponent. Discard this card if Asherah
Wouldnt deactivating it negate it? idk
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 17, 2010, 10:25:01 PM
1. If My opponent Deactivates Lampstand( in a temple) during his turn and DoN's my Unholy Writ, I can DoN his other artifact before he "reactivates" lampstand?
I seem to remember that if you deactivate Lampstand on a turn, that you can't activate it again.  Otherwise, someone would simply deactivate all other arts, then deactivate LotS, play their DoN, activate LotS again, and then activate their other arts again, which would leave no chance for their opponent to play their DoN.

2.  Does Glory of the Lord keep philistine priest's from deactivating Lampstand(in Solomon's Temple)?
Philistine Priests...you may negate and deactivate one O.T. Artifact in play...
Glory of the Lord...Solomon’s Temple and the artifact in it are protected from being discarded or negated...
Unless I'm missing something, GotL would stop Philly Priests.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 17, 2010, 10:31:14 PM
Quote
1. If My opponent Deactivates Lampstand( in a temple) during his turn and DoN's my Unholy Writ, I can DoN his other artifact before he "reactivates" lampstand?


Technically, the artifact is never deactivated. Opponent must choose during prep phase to either keep the artifact active, activate another artifact, or have no artifact active.

When the opponent decides to deactivate the artifact, he/she cant reactivate it.

(question) What happens if they place a Fortress down that can hold Lampstand? Can they reactivate it then?
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 17, 2010, 10:46:54 PM
Quote
Unless I'm missing something, GotL would stop Philly Priests.

The question is, Do I have to negate in order to deactivate?  If so, why?  Where is it in the Rules/REG/new REG/ Whatever someone says/Thread?
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: crustpope on March 17, 2010, 10:58:07 PM
No, deactivating and negating are two different things.  negating is soemthing I do to you.  deactivating is something i do to me.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 17, 2010, 11:11:16 PM
The question is, Do I have to negate in order to deactivate?
Ahh, I gotcha now.  I suppose in that case that Philly Priests COULD deactivate an art even if it is protected by GotL.  However the SA of that art would remain active during the battle phase despite it being deactivated (I think).  Therefore, if it were a art like UW or UN, then it could still be discarded to do its thing right?

However, if it were an ongoing art like LotS, then it would only stop DoN during the battle.  After the battle ended, and the turn moved to the next phase, then DoN would be playable, right?
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 17, 2010, 11:53:27 PM
You let UW/Un in your temples? ;)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 18, 2010, 07:47:16 AM
You let UW/Un in your temples? ;)

Only on a bad day. ;)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Professoralstad on March 18, 2010, 10:13:01 AM
You let UW/Un in your temples? ;)

Only on a bad day. ;)

Only when you play Solomon Dedicates Temple. Because that means any artifact right? Not just Temple Artifacts?

 ;)

Solomon Dedicates Temple

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 4 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search your draw pile for Solomon's Temple and put it in play. Holder may immediately take an Artifact from his Artifact pile and activate it in Solomon's Temple. • Identifiers: OT, Connected with David • Verse: II Chronicles 5:2 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: STAMP on March 18, 2010, 11:06:53 AM
You let UW/Un in your temples? ;)

Only on a bad day. ;)

Only when you play Solomon Dedicates Temple. Because that means any artifact right? Not just Temple Artifacts?

 ;)

Solomon Dedicates Temple

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 4 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search your draw pile for Solomon's Temple and put it in play. Holder may immediately take an Artifact from his Artifact pile and activate it in Solomon's Temple. • Identifiers: OT, Connected with David • Verse: II Chronicles 5:2 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)

Indeed.  Only Ithamar is receiving an errata.   :)

Oh, and in the case of deactivating a UW without negating it...I just love getting more than one use out of it.   ;)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Professoralstad on March 18, 2010, 12:07:24 PM
Um...Philistine Priests can't negate or deactivate Unholy Writ, even if such a convoluted combo were possible. Because no matter how much twisting of the rules we could manage, OT artifacts will never include NT artifacts.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: STAMP on March 18, 2010, 01:19:31 PM
You'll notice that when I altered my post that I split it into two sentences...no where do I imply the use of PP or switching of OT/NT arts.   ;)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: EmJayBee83 on March 18, 2010, 01:55:16 PM
You let UW/Un in your temples? ;)

Only on a bad day. ;)

Only when you play Solomon Dedicates Temple. Because that means any artifact right? Not just Temple Artifacts?

 ;)

When you fully take into account artifacts that do not currently exist, it is clear that this is soooooooo exceedingly OP that I believe immediate action on the part of the PTB is necessary to ban Solomon Dedicates Temple from tournament play.    ;)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 24, 2010, 10:41:28 AM
Quote
2.  Does Glory of the Lord keep philistine priest's from deactivating Lampstand(in Solomon's Temple)?  Or this like DoN and is a linked ability?

I have yet to see an authoritative or clear answer to this question.  Is it necessary to negate it to deactivate it?
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 11:36:45 AM
I seem to remember that if you deactivate Lampstand on a turn, that you can't activate it again.  Otherwise, someone would simply deactivate all other arts, then deactivate LotS, play their DoN, activate LotS again, and then activate their other arts again, which would leave no chance for their opponent to play their DoN.

Do you have evidence of this rememberance?  I see this as totally legal.  I deactivate all my arts, play a Grim Reaper Dominant, then reactivate all my artifacts accordingly. 
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 24, 2010, 12:26:29 PM
Search Lampstand XD You'll find it.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 12:29:57 PM
Search Lampstand XD You'll find it.

along with 1200 other threads that mention Lamp  or Stand or The.....
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 24, 2010, 12:32:20 PM
Search Lampstand XD You'll find it.

along with 1200 other threads that mention Lamp  or Stand or The.....

"  " <---- make those your friends when you search. It'll make searches look only for EXACTLY what you put in.

The Lamp Stand would search for all three words on their own, "The Lamp Stand" only shows results that say The Lamp Stand.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 24, 2010, 01:35:01 PM
I deactivate all my arts, play a Grim Reaper Dominant, then reactivate all my artifacts accordingly. 

My only question to this is, I thought you could only activate 1 artifact per turn, so if you deactivate 2 or 3 artifacts, you are not allowed to activate more than 1 after Lampstand is turned over right?
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 01:44:44 PM
My only question to this is, I thought you could only activate 1 artifact per turn, so if you deactivate 2 or 3 artifacts, you are not allowed to activate more than 1 after Lampstand is turned over right?

I'm talking about activating Lampstand already in Z's Temple.  Then activating a different one. 


"  " <---- make those your friends when you search. It'll make searches look only for EXACTLY what you put in.
Or Prof U could just answer my question saving us all time
 :laugh:
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on March 24, 2010, 01:45:35 PM
I agree with ProfU and RR; you cannot deactivate lampstand, play DoN, and then reactivate it.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 24, 2010, 02:30:42 PM
The confusion here comes from the idea that when you activate an Artifact, you first deactivate it.

If you want to have an Artifact active, you activate it and deactivate the old one.
If you deactivate an artifact and do something else, you are signaling that you will not be using an active artifact in that slot.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Cousin It on March 24, 2010, 02:50:18 PM
I deactivate all my arts, play a Grim Reaper Dominant, then reactivate all my artifacts accordingly. 

My only question to this is, I thought you could only activate 1 artifact per turn, so if you deactivate 2 or 3 artifacts, you are not allowed to activate more than 1 after Lampstand is turned over right?

I'm pretty sure it was said that you could only activate one artifact per place per turn.  Meaning I can activate only one in my artifact pile, only one in my Zs Temple, only one in my Soloman's Temple, etc.  You can activate as many as you like as long as each is in a different place legally.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 24, 2010, 03:31:27 PM
OK, that is what I was confused on!  I thought it was only 1 per turn no matter where it went!  Hence why I probably don't need to be hosting tournaments!   :P
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Ironica on March 24, 2010, 04:04:37 PM
A couple of questions with what some has said:

Quote
I seem to remember that if you deactivate Lampstand on a turn, that you can't activate it again.

Quote
When the opponent decides to deactivate the artifact, he/she cant reactivate it.

Does that mean that if some one deactivated Artifact A, activated U&T, they can't reactivate Artifact A after U&T finishes?

2)

Quote
The confusion here comes from the idea that when you activate an Artifact, you first deactivate it.

So if you don't need to deactivate an artifact to reactivate it, then shouldn't Priestly Breatplate stay on the priest each turn since it remained active the whole time (I know I'm reaching but I'm still fighting that battle :P).

Urim and Thummim
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: On activation, if you have a High Priest in play or set aside area, look at one opponent’s hand. You may then deactivate this Artifact and activate a different Artifact.

Artifact A
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: When activated, it becomes any artifact of your choice until it is deactivated. Cannot be negated.

Priestly Breastplate (Priests)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate all ignore and repel abilities on Characters and Enhancements. May be placed on a good High Priest when activated.


Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 24, 2010, 04:55:12 PM
Do you have evidence of this rememberance?
Unfortunately no, but as RR and Cameron seem to agree, I'm pretty sure that it's been the ruling on this for a while.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 05:02:22 PM
Do you have evidence of this rememberance?
Unfortunately no, but as RR and Cameron seem to agree, I'm pretty sure that it's been the ruling on this for a while.

While I respect thier opinion I would need to see some king of ruling as everything I suggest does not violate a rule to prevent me from playing this another way. Thanks for the answer though guys
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 24, 2010, 07:24:28 PM
Any one have an answer related to the actual questions asked in this thread?  I appreciate the discussion on LotS and artifact activation because it needs a clear answer but I would like for this thread to stay on topic so when people look for answers this thread is easier to find.  So in short:

 :offtopic:  ;) ;)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: STAMP on March 24, 2010, 07:36:33 PM
While I respect thier opinion I would need to see some king of ruling...

That would be the well-dressed gentleman on your left:

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.cactusgamedesign.com%2Fimages_events%2FDSC00009.JPG&hash=8d54e2f839e007cad332f2434d0f73ea65e51068)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 07:36:43 PM
Any one have an answer related to the actual questions asked in this thread?  I appreciate the discussion on LotS and artifact activation because it needs a clear answer but I would like for this thread to stay on topic so when people look for answers this thread is easier to find.  So in short:

 :offtopic:  ;) ;)

I'm sorry, I guess I thought this was on topic to what your question was on the first page. 
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on March 25, 2010, 01:06:11 AM
Took me forever to find it BUT http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=13938.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=13938.0)
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 25, 2010, 08:07:40 AM
Quote
I'm sorry, I guess I thought this was on topic to what your question was on the first page. 

No problem ;).  I just want to get an answer about philistine priest vs. LotS, not Rehash LotS vs. DoN.  I thought it was already established that the LotS and DoN combo didn't work.  but Bryon's two threads seem to be lost.
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 25, 2010, 10:25:18 AM
Took me forever to find it BUT http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=13938.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=13938.0)

That answers the question then....DON/LOTS trick = illegality
Title: Re: A few questions
Post by: Korunks on March 25, 2010, 01:52:04 PM
So, can Philistine Priests Deactivate a LotS protected by Glory of the Lord?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal