Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The M on December 12, 2010, 02:05:06 PM

Title: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: The M on December 12, 2010, 02:05:06 PM
6. If you convert a hero would it keep it's ability?

7. If you played Long Day on a character with Enoch in battle, then played First Fruits, would Enoch stay in battle?

The Long Day (Ki)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 2 / 1 • Class: None • Special Ability: If holder's rescue attempt this turn fails, holder may make an additional rescue attempt this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Joshua 10:13 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)

Enoch (Pa)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 7 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: Enoch may be removed from the game, but is prevented from being discarded. • Errata: Protect Enoch from discard. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Prophet • Verse: Genesis 5:23-24 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Rare)

First Fruits (Pi)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Teal/White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside all of your human Heroes for one turn. On return, discard a good card from hand to draw four cards. • Identifiers: OT, Offering, Feast • Verse: Leviticus 23:10 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Rare)

8. Would musicians be protected from FBTN by Cheneniah's ability?

Chenaniah (RA)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 11 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Musicians from the special ability on the next evil Enhancement played this battle. May band to a Musician. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Musician (Israel), Levite • Verse: I Chronicles 15:22 • Availability: Rock of Ages booster packs (None)

9. Could you negate Transfiguration? It says the "effect" is CBN. Could you negate the enhancement to negate the CBN clause to negate Transfiguration?

Transfiguration (Ap)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may search draw pile or discard pile for Moses or Elijah, and band one or both into battle. This effect may not be negated, prevented, or interrupted. • Play As: You may search your deck or discard pile for Moses or Elijah, and band one or both into battle. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 9:29-30 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Rare)

10. What would happen if you played Meal at Emmaus with Hidden Treasures?

The Meal in Emmaus (Ap)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle. Holder may activate a new Artifact. Artifact takes immediate effect. Previous Artifact's effect is negated. • Play As: Interrupt the battle. Holder may activate a new Artifact. Negate previous Artifact. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 24:30-31 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Rare)

Hidden Treasures (FF)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or discard an evil Enhancement in an opponent's deck. • Play As: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or search opponent's deck for an evil enhancement and discard it. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Obadiah 1:6 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

11. If your character is protected from discard, can you decrease it to zero or below zero?
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 12, 2010, 02:10:44 PM
8. Would musicians be protected from FBTN by Cheneniah's ability?

Chenaniah (RA)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 11 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Musicians from the special ability on the next evil Enhancement played this battle. May band to a Musician. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Musician (Israel), Levite • Verse: I Chronicles 15:22 • Availability: Rock of Ages booster packs (None)



No
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Alex_Olijar on December 12, 2010, 02:12:45 PM
Six through nine are all no.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: The Guardian on December 12, 2010, 02:21:34 PM
6. If you convert a hero would it keep it's ability?

No. The rule is that Heroes never keep their special abilities if converted.

Quote
7. If you played Long Day on a character with Enoch in battle, then played First Fruits, would Enoch stay in battle?

The Long Day (Ki)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Blue • Ability: 2 / 1 • Class: None • Special Ability: If holder's rescue attempt this turn fails, holder may make an additional rescue attempt this turn. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Joshua 10:13 • Availability: Kings booster packs (Rare)

Enoch (Pa)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 7 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: Enoch may be removed from the game, but is prevented from being discarded. • Errata: Protect Enoch from discard. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Prophet • Verse: Genesis 5:23-24 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Rare)

First Fruits (Pi)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Teal/White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside all of your human Heroes for one turn. On return, discard a good card from hand to draw four cards. • Identifiers: OT, Offering, Feast • Verse: Leviticus 23:10 • Availability: Priests booster packs (Rare)

I have no idea why you are asking this, but no. Enoch is protected from discard, not from being set aside.

Quote
8. Would musicians be protected from FBTN by Cheneniah's ability?

Chenaniah (RA)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: White • Ability: 11 / 7 • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Musicians from the special ability on the next evil Enhancement played this battle. May band to a Musician. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Musician (Israel), Levite • Verse: I Chronicles 15:22 • Availability: Rock of Ages booster packs (None)

+1 w/ Cpt Jaeger, no. Negate always beats protect unless the protect is cannot be negated variety.

Quote
9. Could you negate Transfiguration? It says the "effect" is CBN. Could you negate the enhancement to negate the CBN clause to negate Transfiguration?

Transfiguration (Ap)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may search draw pile or discard pile for Moses or Elijah, and band one or both into battle. This effect may not be negated, prevented, or interrupted. • Play As: You may search your deck or discard pile for Moses or Elijah, and band one or both into battle. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 9:29-30 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Rare)

See the "Play As" which does not contain the outdated "effect" language.

Quote
10. What would happen if you played Meal at Emmaus with Hidden Treasures?

The Meal in Emmaus (Ap)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle. Holder may activate a new Artifact. Artifact takes immediate effect. Previous Artifact's effect is negated. • Play As: Interrupt the battle. Holder may activate a new Artifact. Negate previous Artifact. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 24:30-31 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Rare)

Hidden Treasures (FF)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or discard an evil Enhancement in an opponent's deck. • Play As: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or search opponent's deck for an evil enhancement and discard it. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Obadiah 1:6 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

I believe the new artifact would activate, but I'm not 100% certain. There are some special conditions for indirect negation when an ability allows you to play a card.

Quote
11. If your character is protected from discard, can you decrease it to zero or below zero?
If it's protected from "discard" yes. If it's just protected from "discard abilities" then it would be discarded by game rule (unless it's battle, in which case it would be discarded during battle resolution unless it's toughness was increased).
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 12, 2010, 02:24:39 PM
Quote
10. What would happen if you played Meal at Emmaus with Hidden Treasures?

The Meal in Emmaus (Ap)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle. Holder may activate a new Artifact. Artifact takes immediate effect. Previous Artifact's effect is negated. • Play As: Interrupt the battle. Holder may activate a new Artifact. Negate previous Artifact. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 24:30-31 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Rare)

Hidden Treasures (FF)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or discard an evil Enhancement in an opponent's deck. • Play As: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or search opponent's deck for an evil enhancement and discard it. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Obadiah 1:6 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

I believe the new artifact would activate, but I'm not 100% certain. There are some special conditions for indirect negation when an ability allows you to play a card.


This is a very good question.... i wouldn't mind a ruling on it :)
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: The M on December 12, 2010, 02:25:21 PM
Why does it say on Enoch:
"Return Enoch to territory at end of battle"?
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: The Guardian on December 12, 2010, 02:30:28 PM
Why does it say on Enoch:
"Return Enoch to territory at end of battle"?

That is an outdated clarifying ability. I'm not sure why it was left off the original ability in the REG, but it does not matter because Enoch was given errata so his ability is simply: "Protect Enoch from discard" --nothing more, nothing less.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Professoralstad on December 12, 2010, 03:16:42 PM
10. The ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted. So even though HT is negated, the ability to play MiE is not, therefore MiE itself is not negated. So the new Artifact is active, and remains that way, unless MiE is later negated.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: The Guardian on December 12, 2010, 03:22:02 PM
10. The ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted. So even though HT is negated, the ability to play MiE is not, therefore MiE itself is not negated. So the new Artifact is active, and remains that way, unless MiE is later negated.

+1 That's what I thought, but wasn't sure of the exact wording of the rule.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on December 12, 2010, 03:49:21 PM
10. The ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted. So even though HT is negated, the ability to play MiE is not, therefore MiE itself is not negated. So the new Artifact is active, and remains that way, unless MiE is later negated.

+1 That's what I thought, but wasn't sure of the exact wording of the rule.

I thought you could negate the acutal enhancement but not the paying of it once it's done.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on December 12, 2010, 11:50:45 PM
10. The ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted. So even though HT is negated, the ability to play MiE is not, therefore MiE itself is not negated. So the new Artifact is active, and remains that way, unless MiE is later negated.
10. The ability to play an enhancement cannot be interrupted. So even though HT is negated, the ability to play MiE is not, therefore MiE itself is not negated. So the new Artifact is active, and remains that way, unless MiE is later negated.

+1 That's what I thought, but wasn't sure of the exact wording of the rule.
so that's official then?
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: SomeKittens on December 13, 2010, 11:11:39 AM
So Reach is also CBI?  (at least the play next)
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Professoralstad on December 13, 2010, 12:33:27 PM
So Reach is also CBI?  (at least the play next)

Correct.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on December 13, 2010, 02:01:04 PM
The only way you can undo a "playing" of a card, is if that card was drawn by an ability and you negate the draw, correct?
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: Professoralstad on December 13, 2010, 03:34:40 PM
The only way you can undo a "playing" of a card, is if that card was drawn by an ability and you negate the draw, correct?

I'm not even sure if that will undo the playing of the card, but I'm not 100% certain. I know that if you draw and play a CBN card it sticks no matter what, but I'm not as sure about negatable cards.
Title: Re: 6 Ruling Questions
Post by: The M on December 13, 2010, 07:02:55 PM
If so would there be an errata or REG entry?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal