Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Crashfach2002 on April 10, 2016, 06:20:41 PM

Title: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: Crashfach2002 on April 10, 2016, 06:20:41 PM
So I recently had a playgroup member who attacked with Peter from hand and then discarded Four Drachman Coin from his artifact pile.  I blocked with Goliath from hand to negate the draw on him, but ruled that 4DR still worked because it wasn't in battle.  Was that correct or not?

4DC: Protect . . . .  At any time, if Peter is in play, you may discard this card to drew 4.

Goliath: Return . . . Negate all band, draw, and play abilities.  Cannot be negated.
Title: Re: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: Noah on April 10, 2016, 06:28:58 PM
It isn't negated, not because 4DC isn't in battle, but because 4DC's draw ability is an instant ability that is no longer in play when Goliath is trying to negate it.

The negate portion of Goliath's ability defaults to cards in play, but because 4DC is already in his discard pile before Goliath enters battle, it can't be negated.

I believe it is similar to how you can't negate DD with DoN after it's been discarded.
Title: Re: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: Crashfach2002 on April 10, 2016, 06:31:28 PM
That was my thinking.  But with this we are saying if they tried to do it after block, Goliath would negate it?
Title: Re: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: The Guardian on April 10, 2016, 08:35:43 PM
That was my thinking.  But with this we are saying if they tried to do it after block, Goliath would negate it?

Correct.
Title: Re: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: Crashfach2002 on April 10, 2016, 08:40:11 PM
So do cards like Moses and Strong Angel negate territory class characters as they are "in play?"
Title: Re: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: The Guardian on April 10, 2016, 08:44:16 PM
Most definitely.
Title: Re: 4DC vs Goliath
Post by: Crashfach2002 on April 10, 2016, 08:45:45 PM
Ok, I've missed that ruling somewhere along the way, so I just wanted to make sure.

Edit: to clarify, I missed that abilities reached outside of battle into territory.  I guess that is more consistent since all the cards that target artifacts are targeting territory.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal