Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jbeers285 on July 16, 2012, 11:04:55 PM
-
I know I should post abilities to ask this question but I don't have access to the reg from my phone :-p
Do 4DC or S the Z protect from mayhem and/or rain becomes dust?
I know S the Z has to enter battle before his protection works.
-
Helping hand for the technologically impaired ;)
Four-Drachma Coin
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect the cards in your hand and deck from discard abilities on opponents' cards. At any time, if Peter is in play, you may discard this card to draw 4.
Simon the Zealot
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Red/Purple • Ability: 7 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate and discard Rome and a N.T. Idol. First Strike. Protect your hand and deck from opponents' cards while this Hero remains in play.
4DC only protects from discard abilities that target hand or deck. Simon the Zealot protects both from opponent's cards (anything they both own and control) while he remains in play (which, if not negated in the Battle Phase, is CBN starting in the next phase as long as he remains in play).
-
So to clarify they both would protect from an opponents mayhem and
Rain becomes dust?
-
So to clarify they both would protect from an opponents mayhem and
Rain becomes dust?
No.
4DC does not protect at all from Mayhem, because it is not a discard ability.
Simon the Zealot protects completely from RBD (as long as they, say, didn't steal it from you with Abe's Kid, because then it is not an "opponent's card" because they don't both own and control it). Your deck is completely protected from it, nothing can be done by RBD if it is your opponent's.
4DC partially protects against RBD. It does not protect against the "instead reveal", as only the discard is protected. So, any cards drawn by a special ability you control "are instead revealed". All Lost Souls are placed in territory. The rest are supposed to be discarded, but they are protected from that. Revealed cards that don't have another destination are returned to where they came from, in this case the top of your deck. So, RBD vs 4DC leads to the drawn cards being revealed, LS being put in play, and the rest returning to the top of deck.
-
Thanks dane I appreciate all the work you do answering questions and aiding players with deck advice. It's a great blessing!!!