Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Wing on January 29, 2012, 02:50:43 PM

Title: 3 various Questions
Post by: Red Wing on January 29, 2012, 02:50:43 PM
1. Does Hidden Treasures activate before or after the Special Ability of the rescuing hero?

2. Can you deactivate artifacts in your Discard phase?

3. Opponent RA's and I block with Gomer and band with opponent's Magician holding charms. Can I discard Magic Charms to capture two heroes?


Hidden Treasures (FF)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or discard an evil Enhancement in an opponent's deck. • Play As: Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an Enhancement or search opponent's deck for an evil enhancement and discard it. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Obadiah 1:6 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)


Gomer (TP)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: May band to a male Evil Character. Cannot be negated unless Hosea is in play. • Identifiers: OT Female Human • Verse: Hosea 2:8 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()


Magic Charms (TP)

Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Magicians from capture and conversion. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes. • Play As: Protect your Magicians from capture and convert abilities. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Ezekiel 13:20 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()
Title: Re: 3 various Questions
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on January 29, 2012, 02:51:50 PM
1.) After
2.) No
3.) No
Title: Re: 3 various Questions
Post by: Chronic Apathy on January 29, 2012, 03:03:15 PM
1. Afterwards.
2. No.
3. No, because it's not "your" magician.
Title: Re: 3 various Questions
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on January 29, 2012, 03:08:32 PM
For the third question, it doesn't matter that it isn't "your" magician anyway. You control the character, but not the artifact placed on it.
Title: Re: 3 various Questions
Post by: Chronic Apathy on January 29, 2012, 03:25:52 PM
For the third question, it doesn't matter that it isn't "your" magician anyway. You control the character, but not the artifact placed on it.

I don't think that's true. By that logic, I couldn't use my opponent's 2KH if I banded his ASA with it into battle via Archer.
Title: Re: 3 various Questions
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on January 29, 2012, 03:36:12 PM
I think it's true. Loser gets a tat.

http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/magic-charms-and-seven-wicked-spirits/msg279142/#msg279142
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/ruling-questions/magic-charms-and-seven-wicked-spirits/msg279148/#msg279148


You now have to get two tats.
Title: Re: 3 various Questions
Post by: Gabe on January 29, 2012, 09:06:01 PM
Sauce is right. Since Magic Charms is not a weapon, it doesn't follow the same rules as a weapon. It follows the rules of an Artifact, which remain under the control of their owner, even if a card that's holding them ends up under another players control.

It might make more sense if you think of it in terms of placed cards, like Destructive Sin. If I place DS on your Hero, I still control it.  In a MP game, if a 3rd player bands to your Hero, they don't control DS, I still do.

Magic Charms is not a place ability but it functions in a similar way for this example.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal